RSS

Eating Back Calories

17 Jan

Something new I learned today – Eating Back Calories.  I had never heard of this before but it makes perfect sense.  I have been sticking to a 1200 calorie diet and then doing my run to burn calories.  Well yesterday I was told that I was not taking in enough calories and my body will then go into starvation mode this way.  We don’t want that.  The concept is that your body needs a certain amount of calories just to sustain itself.  This is at least 1200 calories.  Then if you are burning 400 calories and not eating any more food then your body is only getting 800 calories a day and it things it is starving and then will not burn anything because it is trying to hang on to everything it has to keep it alive.  So you need to eat back the 400 that you burned to keep your body at a minimum of 1200 calories.  Such a easy, yet weird, concept to grasp when you are trained to think food is the enemy.

So yesterday was the first day that I ate back my calories.  It was a good day.  I felt like I was eating all day long but I completely stayed within my calories for the day and was able to eat back the burned ones.  For lunch I had a lean cuisine meal, cottage cheese with sugar free jello (so good when eaten together), a muffin top and some turkey kielbasa(eaten cold).

Then with the extra calories I had I was able to indulge a bit for dinner.  I had an Omaha Steaks Chicken Cordon Bleu and some Jambalaya rice.  It was nice to have something that I really enjoy eating.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 17, 2012 in weight loss

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

