RSS

Complete Shock and Lesson Learned

22 Jan

I took a rest day yesterday.  I did my best to stay within my calories for the day.  By the time dinner came around I had no will to cook anything.  D and I also realized it has been almost 3 weeks since we went out to dinner.  So we decided to go to Olive Garden for dinner.  I went online and checked the calories in the foods I wanted to eat and I planned out my meal before we went.  I ordered the  salad with no dressing and no cheese and then had the low fat Italian dressing instead of the house dressing they normally use.  I only had 1 bread stick (I could have eaten the whole basket but I didn’t).  Then I had the stuffed mushroom appetizer and the Zuppa Tuscana soup.  Calculated the dinner to only be about 600 calories.  Okay cool – I can do that.

This morning I stepped on the scale to see that the number was 145!!!  WTF!  So I got onto My Fitness Pal website and asked the community there.  They asked me what the sodium intake was for that meal and said I was probably just retaining water from  the sodium levels.  I didn’t think that was the case since all I ate was soup, salad, a few mushrooms, and a bread stick but I went to check.  My “healthy” dinner had 2,940mg of sodium in it!  OMG that is unbelievable. 

I think it is outrageous that you can go out to eat and think you are eating somewhat healthy just to find out that you are in reality taking in so much sodium and not really eating that healthy at all.  Next time I know to also check the sodium in the food I plan to eat as well.  Lesson learned.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 22, 2012 in healthy eating

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

