RSS

Running and New books

23 Feb

Running has been so painful for me for so long that I just dealt with the fact that I wasnt going to be able to run again.  I hated the fact that I was only in my 20’s and having so many knee problems.   I couldn’t find a doctor that could tell me what was wrong and why I as having so much pain.  Finally after years of thinking it was just me and this was the way my body was and of course double knee surgery, I am finally starting to see the light at the end of the tunnel.  I am finally starting to feel like I will be able to be a good runner again.

When I started all this 5 weeks ago it was very difficult for me to run even for 1 minute.  My knees hurt so bad and I couldn’t catch my breath, I thought I was going to die.  I kept thinking “Your young and you’re not THAT fat, why can’t you do this?  400 pound people can jog for a minute, what is your problem?”   I was much more comfortable with a brisk walk than a run.  So I would walk a lot more than I ran but I would still run a bit when I could.  Mostly I would walk for a few minutes then run for a minute then walk for a few minutes then run for a minute.  This is how I have been training my body to run.  I then would add extra time to the run side of it.  I still do this today.

Yesterday I ran for 5 minutes without stopping.  I was so proud of myself.  I am still alternating running and walking but I can feel that my body is stronger and I can see that I can run longer and I am not so out of breath while I am running.  Yesterday I was walking for 3 minutes and running for 4 minutes and then at the end I pushed myself to 5 minutes of running.  It feels great to be able to do this and I have faith that I will be able to run a full 5K soon.  For the first time in a long time I am convinced that I can still run and I will do it.  My legs are stronger, my knees are stronger and I am stronger.  It feels great!

I also have found a book that I have started to read.  Its call “Run Like a Mother: How to Get Moving–and Not Lose Your Family, Job, Or Sanity” by Dimity McDowell and Sarah Bowen Shea.

I have to say this book had really gotten my attention. It’s about women who are mothers and are runners and how they fit in running into their lives.  I have not finished this book yet so I cannot tell you about it all but I am enjoying what I have read so far.  I am also NOT a reader so this book will take me a while to read but hey its all good. On top of that I need to fit this into all the spare time I have during my days.

I also just read on a post today about this book.  “Born to Run: A Hidden Tribe, Super athletes, and the Greatest Race the World Has Never Seen” By Christopher McDougall.

This book is about how to run properly.  They say most people run with a “heel strike” motion and that is the wrong way to run.  This book is about a tribe who can actually run hundreds, yes hundreds, of miles in saddles.  I am excited to start reading this one as well.  Maybe I can get some pointers on how to run better.

So for the first time in a very, very long time I consider myself a runner.  I cant wait to sign up and run my first 5K.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 23, 2012 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

