RSS

The joys of a potty trained toddler

13 Mar

Since baby J has been potty trained she rarely has any accidents.  There was one time that she did have an accident while we were in the car but this was more my fault than hers.  She told me she had to go pee and I tried to get to where we were going so I didn’t have to stop along the way but this didn’t work.  Baby J had to go and she wasn’t happy that she had the accident.  I felt really bad that I made her try to wait and she just couldn’t.

Since that time I take the “I gotta go pee” very seriously.  We have also tried to be better about having her go pee before we leave the house (although we are still not good about this yet).  So the past few days we have been in the car a lot and of course this is the time I hear a little voice in the back seat that says “I gotta go pee”.  Yup while driving down the freeway at 80 MPH she has to pee.  The first time this happened over the weekend we were in the middle of no where and there were no exits around to stop at.  So being the great mom that I am, I pull the car over to the side of the freeway so my baby girl doesn’t have an accident.  I open the back passenger car door and then open the front passenger car door and hover in between the two door for privacy.  I strip baby J’s pant off and hold her in a squat position to let her pee while praying she avoids my shoes.  D holds her feet so she doesn’t pee on her feet.  After she goes D wipes her and we get her pants back on, get her back in her seat, and we are off.  Crisis diverted and baby J thought it was fun to pee outside.

Then the other morning as we are crossing over a bridge with no exits I hear the same “I gotta go pee” from the back seat.  So again I pull over to the side of the road and do the whole routine again.  Crisis diverted.  D and I vow to make sure we take her to the potty before we leave the house from here on out.

Last night while driving down the freeway, again in the middle of no where, I hear “I go pee outside”.  D and I look at each other and realize that baby J has now put  two and two together and thinks she gets to pee outside whenever we are in the car and she has to go.  After a quick laugh I pull the car over to the side of the freeway and once again run through the drill – which is now down to a science – baby J is out of her seat, in between the car doors, pants off, goes pee and is wiped, pants back on, and back in the car in 5 minutes flat.  LOL  Again D and I vow to have her go potty before we leave the house since we obviously have not learned from our previous experience.

After we get back in the car last night baby J laughs and says “I peed outside”.  LOL  I think we have created a monster.

After careful debate over whether or not we should take a picture to post on here for all of you we decided it was probably better we didn’t.  Any one want to take bets on if a travel potty chair will be a purchase by us in the very near future?  LOL

Oh yeah you know it will be.  Anyone else have some fun potty stories to share?

 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on March 13, 2012 in life

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “The joys of a potty trained toddler

  1. Jessie

    March 13, 2012 at 8:44 am

    Amazing what these toddlers consider fun, huh? 🙂

    We have the Potette Plus travel potty and it’s great!

     
    • Two Moms

      March 13, 2012 at 9:29 am

      Never a dull moment! 🙂
      I like that you can use that on in public bathrooms as well. Thanks for the tip.

       
  2. 2mommiestobe

    March 13, 2012 at 8:52 am

    OMG you made me laugh so much!

     
    • Two Moms

      March 13, 2012 at 9:31 am

      🙂 I am here all day for your entertainment. LOL Oh you just wait until Kendall does this to you.

       
  3. Terry Tarte

    March 13, 2012 at 11:11 am

    At 80 mph you were speeding! That is what jostled her bladder. lol

    She does learn quickly tho’…. Have fun 🙂

     
    • Two Moms

      March 13, 2012 at 12:08 pm

      The speed limit was 70 so 80 really wasnt speeding. LOL I was just keeping up with the flow of traffic.

       

Leave a Reply

