RSS

Helping Out

29 Mar

Last night we were out in the backyard playing.  Baby J was practicing her T-Ball and Zoey was running around playing fetch.  It was a nice evening.  D and I were enjoying the family time we were having.  I love living on the pond and watching the ducks, turtles, birds, and gator that live out there.  As usual there were ducks swimming around.  It seemed like just another night.

Then D noticed that one of the ducks was not acting normal.  She pointed this duck out to me and we both started looking at the way it was acting.  We then noticed that it kept going under the water then back up but it wasnt swimming anywhere.  We then noticed that there was a string or line of some sort that came from out of the trees and into the water.  Curious about what is going on we walked over to the line.  We quickly realized that this “line” was some type of fishing line and that the duck was caught up in the line.  I grabbed a hold of the line that was coming out of the tree to see if I could shake the duck loose.  This didn’t work and the duck struggled to get away from me pulling on the line.  D ran into the house to grab her fishing gear.  I kept tugging on the line to see if I could pull the duck closer to the bank so I can get a hold of it.

Of course by this time baby J and Zoey were curious as to what we were doing and came over to inspect the situation.  I put on a glove for protection from the duck biting me and was finally able to get the duck to the bank of the water and D cut the line to relieve the tension on it.  At this point I don’t know if it was a duck or a bird.  It had webbed feet like a duck but it looked kind of like a bird.  So lets call it a bird.  I covered the birds’ head with my gloved hand.  As we sat there at the edge of the water assessing the situation all we could think about was the gator coming up to get us. So I picked up the bird and we moved up higher onto the land.  The bird had the fishing line wrapped around its wing numberous times and it could not get loose from it.  I held the bird and D was cutting the line to try to free the wing.  Zoey kept trying to get to  the bird and baby J kept asking to pet it.  Nothing like a little distraction to add to the chaos.  🙂

D must have made 20 cuts or so to try to free the line from the birds’ wing.  Finally after getting all the line off his wing we stretched it out to make sure we got it all and he could move.  We didn’t see any major damage to the skin so we assumed he would be okay.  The wing skin looked red but it didn’t look cut in any way so that was good.  I think we got the line cut off of him before it could do any damage.  Surprisingly the bird did not fight much as we were trying to free it.  It was almost like it knew we were trying to help.  Funny how that worked out.  It was never aggressive to us at all.  After that the bird just sat there and we walked back to the house and took the dog inside, who was now ready to play with the bird.  LOL   D pulled the rest of the fishing line out of the tree.  We were surprised at how much was there.  We freed the bird with just a glove and a swiss army knife.  Nice, right!   Then I said we should walk over to the other side of the pond and get the rest of the line that was left over there.

So baby J, D and I walked past the bird again who was still sitting in the same spot and walked over to the other side of the pond to get the rest of the line.  There was a ton of it over there.  I was shocked by how much was out there.  This is how much line we found total.  Crazy, Right!

Baby J found a pine cone on the way back.

The bird sat on the side of the pond for quite some time and we sat on the back lanai watching it.  Trying to make sure it was going to be okay.  Finally after about an hour or so it started to stretch out its wings and move around a bit.  As it got darker I was worried that it would not go anywhere and be eaten by some animal.  I told D I was going to go get it and bring it into the lanai if it didn’t move before it got dark.  She told me I was nuts and I couldn’t save everything.  🙂    Finally it started moving into the woods a bit so I left it be.  D said we were now volunteers for the Fish and Wildlife group.  LOL

This morning there is no sign of the bird.  The pond is quiet and all is right again.  I feel good that we were able to help out and do our part.  Guess that is part of living on a pond and protecting the wildlife.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on March 29, 2012 in life

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Helping Out

  1. KJ and the Kids

    March 29, 2012 at 2:33 pm

    Great story !
    Way to go !

     
    • Two Moms

      March 29, 2012 at 3:50 pm

      Thanks – I was so surprised we did this since D is scared to death of birds. She was such a trooper. Guess I didnt give her much choice since I was already pulling the bird in when I told her we needed to get something to cut the line. LOL I love her!

       
  2. Jack L. Shuster

    March 29, 2012 at 10:33 pm

    Dad is very proud of all of you. You did the right thing.

     
  3. Amber

    March 29, 2012 at 10:56 pm

    Holy crap!!!! Okay that bird is scary looking!!!! you know if I were there I would have hauled ass into the house as you pulled that thing on shore! good for you for saving it. Although it is very ugly!!!

     
    • Two Moms

      March 29, 2012 at 11:10 pm

      LMAO Oh I know you would have run. I was nervous doing it but I couldn’t let it just die out there. It was a really nice bird, didn’t try to kill me or anything. 🙂 I think its some kind of duck/bird or something. LOL

       

Leave a Reply

