RSS

Mixing it up and Settling in

10 Apr

So it has only taken me 12 weeks to find my grove.  LOL  Yeah you would think I would have found it sooner but I didn’t.  Now that I my knees and my body are getting stronger I have started to mix things up a bit.

I have been running better than I ever have been.  I can finally run a full 5K (3.12 miles) without stopping.  Today was the second time I did this.  I have to admit though that I still have to convince myself that I can do this.  I didn’t have confidence that I could run it straight through.  I just kept telling myself I am strong and I can do it.  It wasn’t easy but I did it.

I have also added cardio/strength training into my workouts.  I have been doing Jillian Michaels DVD’s on days that I don’t run.  Mostly it has been the “No More Trouble Zones” but I also have her kickboxing one and the “30 day Shred” or “Ripped in 30” so I plan to mix it up so I don’t get bored.  I am sure they will all kick my butt.  This is something that really challenges my body and all those little muscles.  I am so sore after these workouts that I usually need a day to recover so I will run the next day for recovery.  But I can tell that I am getting stronger and I am less sore now than I was when I first started.

Finally I am adding in a day of walking as an easier day and this is a great way to spend the day with the family.  I will put baby J in the stroller and Zoey will walk on the leash with us.  D and I will usually go 5+ miles.  This is a great workout that is a bit less intense and it give us some great quality time together.

So I am finally starting to get into a good routine as well.  I am not a morning person and usually cannot convince my body to workout until around noon or later.  I swear my body says “screw you! give me coffee and leave me alone”.   Then around 10am it says “okay maybe we can start thinking of our workout today”.  And then around noon it says “okay its noon are you going to get moving or what?”   🙂  Yes I have this internal argument everyday.

Today I actually got up at 5:30am so that I could have my coffee and wake up enough to get my run in before I went out to my moms group meet up.  I got up at 5:30 and was on the treadmill by 7:15!  Yes I am shocked to – but I swear I ran the first mile half asleep.  🙂

So I have been settling in to running 3 days a week, Jillian 3 days a week, and a family walk 1 day a week.  This seems to be working pretty good.  Although I can change this at any time this seems to be a comfortable middle to managing family with my workouts.

No matter what – just keep going and just do it!

Do you have a comfort zone that works for you?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 10, 2012 in weight loss

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Mixing it up and Settling in

  1. KJ and the Kids

    April 10, 2012 at 4:24 pm

    I hit the high school track for the first time since last fall.
    Thanks for your inspirational posts. 🙂

     
    • Two Moms

      April 10, 2012 at 8:27 pm

      That is awesome. I am so proud of you! Keep going you can do it.

       

Leave a Reply

