RSS

Fruit Rollups

13 Apr

After making dehydrated strawberries in the oven I decided to invest in a food dehydrator to make the process easier and faster.  I didn’t want to spend a fortune but wanted something decent and easy to use.  I ended up getting an American Harvest one that came with a jerky gun and fruit rollup sheets.  I got it at Amazon for $65.  I thought that was a decent price. You can find it HERE.

Let me tell you I LOVE this thing!  I made turkey jerky and it turned out awesome.  I used the seasoning that came with the machine but it is loaded with sodium so I am going to try to make some on my own with less sodium (post to follow later for that).  Even with the high sodium levels the calories are so low and it is so good – definitely a must try.  I think it is much better tasting than beef jerky.

Yesterday baby J and I tried fruit rollups.  I used strawberries and bananas.

I used a magic bullet to puree them together.  I did not add anything to this.  It is all natural with no added sweeteners.

Once mixed together you take the mixture and spread it onto the rollup sheets.  Make sure the mixture is evenly spread.

Place in the dehydrator for about 6-8 hrs depending on how thick you make them.

Once they are finished you can peel them off of the sheets and wrap them in cling wrap.

Let me tell you that these are so sweet and they have nothing added to them.  They are so much healthier than what you buy in the store.  I am so happy with the way they turned out.

I made dehydrated stawberries and banana chips with the extra strawberries and bananas.  Although I had a little thief on my hands while I was trying to load the trays.  These turned out so good as well and only took about 6 hrs.

I am so excited to try out different foods in this.  Lately I have been wanting to munch on foods and I end up munching on crap food because I just want something quick.  This way I can just grab some fruits and they are much healthier than the crap I have been eating.

Anyone else have a dehydrator?  What is your favorite thing to make?

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 13, 2012 in healthy eating

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Fruit Rollups

  1. Terry Tarte

    April 13, 2012 at 12:11 pm

    I like the turkey jerky too!!! The fruit roll-ups are good, but came in 2nd place. Probably because they are too healthy 🙂

     
  2. KJ and the Kids

    April 13, 2012 at 2:01 pm

    GREAT idea !
    The thrill of the roll ups that this machine would bring me, I fear, would only last a week…and then they’d be sick of fruit roll ups and not eat them anymore.
    Why is it that they’ll tire of these healthy and affordable options….but never tire of mac n cheese and PB & J’s ?

     
  3. 2mommiestobe

    April 13, 2012 at 5:54 pm

    So creative and would be such a great idea to stop snacking on mini sized snickers and m&ms..lol

     

Leave a Reply

