RSS

Races and Training

20 Apr

I officially signed D and myself up for our first actual 5K race.  It will be the a local race that benefits cancer awareness.  I am so excited to do our first race.  This race is in 3 weeks.  Yup – 3 weeks.  Doesn’t give us much time to train for this one but I am feeling pretty confident that we can do it.  I will have baby J in a jogger for the race as well so I am not expecting a personal record or anything but the fact that it will be my first official 5K is so exciting.

There are so many different races you can do.  I started looking at them all and it can be overwhelming to say the least.  But one race grabbed my attention and I have not stopped thinking about it since.  The Disney Half Marathon.  This is a 13.1 mile race through Disney.  It is in November and I have been toying with the idea of doing it.  I know its crazy to think I haven’t even run a 5K and I am thinking of running a half marathon, but I am.

D and I have discussed the way this would work while we are trying to conceive our second child and that makes things more difficult.  We discussed putting the baby on hold until after the race or maybe on hold for just a few months and I could run pregnant if I wasn’t to far along.  All of these options are available but which one is the best.  This has been in my head the past few days as we are due to try here again soon.  Do I want to get pregnant now or do I want to try to pursue this goal I have?  Can the baby wait?  Can the race wait?  I would have to completely retrain if I get pregnant now and then the race would have to wait until next year.  Trust me I have gone round and round about this.

Today I finally made my decision.  I am going to start training for the half marathon.  I am also going to continue to try to get pregnant.  I decided that if I start training for the half marathon and don’t become pregnant than I am that much closer to being ready for the race this year.  If I start training and do become pregnant then great I am that much healthier for the baby and for myself.  I can continue to train while I am pregnant at a comfortable level but I would not run the half marathon this year.  I do not want to put my baby at any risk.  I know they say you can run with no problems but I wouldn’t want to push it to far.  I would then have the baby and plan to run the half marathon next year.  This would be a great way to get myself back in shape and have a wonderful goal for the year.

So there it is!  Starting Monday I am officially training for my first half marathon.  I can’t believe it.  I am so excited.  I have put together a training schedule that I will start on Monday.  In 29 weeks I will go from running 2 miles to running 13.1 miles.  I am not pushing myself hard.  I want to do this carefully and slowly so my body can adjust to it and I will avoid any injury.  I think this gives me plenty of time to train and be comfortable with the intensity levels I am going to be doing.  I will be running 3-4 days a week and cross training 2-3 days a week with at least one day of rest and one easy day.  This allows me to keep it mixed up so I don’t get bored.  So far that is working out great for me.

During this time I will also race in some local races to build up my running and racing style?  I am planning on running a 5K, 8K, 10K, 15k, and then the Half.  I am sure I will be an old pro at this in no time.  LOL  Heres hoping my knees and baby J are on board with my brilliant ideas!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 20, 2012 in Running

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Races and Training

  1. loseitbig

    April 20, 2012 at 8:48 am

    Go for it. And good luck getting pregnant. Let me know if I can be of any service…Get your mind out of the gutter…I was talking about buying your bib number if you can’t make the mini…that would be a good excuse to head south.

     
    • Two Moms

      April 20, 2012 at 8:51 am

      LOL Thanks. I will keep that in mind. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

