RSS

Avery’s Bucket List

30 Apr

I want to take a moment and share this with you all.

Imagine you’ve been diagnosed with an incurable genetic disease and you are told you will not only lose your ability to walk and move your arms, but you will die between now and the next 18 months. What would you do? My name is Avery Lynn Canahuati, I’m almost 5 months old, and this has become my reality. But before I die, there’s a few things I’d like to accomplish…this is my bucket list and my story. SHARE IT & HELP ME TELL THE WORLD ABOUT SMA!

Could you imagine this being your child?  The fact that these parents have made a bucket list for their daughter and are doing everything in their power to enjoy every moment they have with their beautiful little girl before she dies is absolutely amazing.  Please help spread the word and get the facts about SMA.  Anyone who is pregnant or trying to conceive should talk to their doctor about SMA.  Follow Avery’s blog and bucket list at Avery’s Bucket List.

We have been so blessed to have a healthy child and I think so many people take that for granted.  D and I are currently working on trying to conceive baby #2 and I could not even imagine what we would do if that child was not a healthy baby.  I just cannot imagine only having 2 years with your child and then losing them.  What a horrible thing to have to go through.  God Bless this family and hold then close to your heart.

Please help share Avery’s story.

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 30, 2012 in children

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Avery’s Bucket List

  1. amourningmom

    April 30, 2012 at 10:13 pm

    Thank you for posting about Avery – I will go check out her bucket list. She is adorable. It sounds like Avery and her parents are amazingly strong. Best of luck for a healthy baby #2. Take care.

     
  2. mybigredshoe

    May 14, 2012 at 10:53 pm

    There is never an ‘okay’ answer for the loss of a child. As a bereaved parent of a daughter who was killed at the age of 19, the journey of loss and redefinition of my life has been long. I would like to share a link for those who are going through the pain of such a loss. http://mybigredshoe.wordpress.com/2012/04/24/scott-free-far-from-it/ . We have over 700 bereaved parents who have taken part. This intro discusses the site and shares all sorts of articles for anyone who is grieving the loss of a child (no matter what their age) and/or cares about someone going through this. Thanks and peace.

     

Leave a Reply

