RSS

Race Preparation

11 May

Our race shirts were suppose to be here today.  When I ordered them I paid extra to make sure they would be here in time for this weekends race.  I was assured they would be here “by Friday, end of day”.  Perfect!

Well I checked the tracking number today and it says they will be delivered on Monday.  So I called the company and told her they were suppose to be here today and the tracking number says Monday.  She looked at the order and said “your order says you need them by Friday”  Yeah thanks lady – I already now that.  So she puts me on hold and then comes back and says they screwed up.  Yeah you think so!!!  She apologized and said they would refund my shipping and send me a return postage if I didn’t want the shirts anymore.  So we do not have our cool running shirts for tomorrow.  It’s not the end of the world but it is irritating.

So this is what I will be wearing for my race.

Capri running pants, a dry fit tank top, sports bra, and running socks.

I decided to wear my new running shoes since I have broken them in pretty well.

I will also be wearing my Garmin GPS and my Polar HRM.

For head-gear I will be sporting the good ol’ bandana and some sunglasses.

I will have my trusty iPod with running band and my running bib.

I think that about covers it.  LOL  I will not be taking any water along with me and just plan to take a quick drink at the water stops.  I am really excited to do this run.  I hope I can sleep tonight.

The race starts at 7:30am so I am planning to get up around 4:30am.  This will give me enough time to have my coffee and have some “bathroom time” before the race.  I really don’t want to have to have to go during the race.  LOL  I am so not a morning runner so I am hoping this will allow me time to wake up as well.  I plan to eat just a banana in the morning before the race.  I run on an empty stomach so I will be use to this.

So that is about it.  Hoping tomorrow goes good.  The weather is supposed to be nice so lets hope that it is.  I guess nothing can be worse than running at 11 in the afternoon.  I guess if I can do that I can run in the cooler morning weather.  🙂

What is your race day preparation? What are your must have’s?

 
5 Comments

Posted by on May 11, 2012 in Running

 

Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to “Race Preparation

  1. deb carson

    May 11, 2012 at 7:41 pm

    I MUST have chewing gum!! Good luck tomorrow and have fun!

     
    • Two Moms

      May 11, 2012 at 7:45 pm

      How do you breathe, chew gum and run? I must not be that coordinated. LOL See you Sunday!

       
      • deb carson

        May 11, 2012 at 8:37 pm

        I guess some people just have it all! 🙂

         
      • Two Moms

        May 12, 2012 at 5:10 am

        🙂 Right!!!

         
  2. loseitbig

    May 12, 2012 at 6:48 am

    That is a bummer about your shirts. Have fun on your run. You will do great.

     

Leave a Reply

