RSS

47 Degrees!

22 May

Vacation is a wonderful thing!  I am enjoying spending time with family and baby J is having a blast.  I have been really good about watching what I am eating and getting my running in.  The first morning I ran it was in the 70’s and beautiful.   There is no flat land around here.  Everything is hills and hills and more hills.  Something I am not used to.

D ran with me on Sunday morning.  We ran about 1.5 miles and she was having a hard time with her allergies acting up so she headed back into the house and I continued my run.  I went another 1.5 miles and it was more hills.  I could definitely feel it in my calves.  I am definitely not use to hills.

Yesterday was a whole different story.   It was not in the 70’s it was 47 degrees!  Holy crap I am going to freeze to death.

I put on my Capri pants and a long sleep tech shirt and headed out for my run.  OMG it was cold.  I figured I would warm up at some point – I just didn’t know exactly how long it would take.  About 5 minutes into my run and my fingers were freezing.  I made fists to keep my fingers warm and then I tucked my thumbs into my fists to keep them warm.  This helped a bit.  About a mile down and I finally started to warm up.  The cool weather felt pretty good at that point.  The wind was a bit tough, especially when I was running up hill and into the wind.  But I did pretty good.  I have had some of my best times here.   I ran another 3 miles yesterday.

In the below pics – the green is the elevation and the blue is my speed.

This is my first run here:

This is my second run here:

Look at the hills I ran!  I am amazed I am able to do this.  My knees were really hurting the first time but yesterday wasn’t to bad and today they are feeling pretty good.  Bio-Freeze is a wonderful thing.  Today will be a rest day for me.

Have you ever run hills?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 22, 2012 in Running

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “47 Degrees!

  1. loseitbig

    May 22, 2012 at 8:33 am

    I don’t like running in the cold but I have had to do it. Living in Indiana we have to put up with temps that a pretty chilly. My hands are always cold. I wear gloves and a hat along with layers when it is cold but, I am a whimp too. Of course I am prepared for this. I am guessing you were not prepared to be running in cold weather.

     
    • Two Moms

      May 22, 2012 at 9:40 am

      I didnt have gloves and was not as prepared as I should have been. I did bring long sleeves but I did not expect it to be so cold.

       
  2. Deb Carson

    May 22, 2012 at 10:32 am

    My most memorable (and dreaded) hill was Cardiac Hill at Ft McClellan Alabama. You know its a bad hill when it has a name. It felt like running up Mt Everest! By the time you make it to the top your lungs are burning and your whole body is screaming for air! It was bad enough on its own, but even worse in army boots and a ruck sack! Unforgetable!!

     
    • Two Moms

      May 22, 2012 at 2:26 pm

      Wow! Okay I am going to stay away from that one. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

