RSS

Back to the grind – Marathon Training

29 May

Okay vacation is over and I need to get back on track.  I did great while I was up in WI and was really good about getting my runs in.  D and I took some pics of us running while we were up there.  It really was nice running in the peace and quiet of the county.

Once we went to Chicago that was no longer the case.  It was so windy and I was just not feeling like running in it.  I am sure the excess alcohol I drank and the very late nights did not help the situation either.  None the less I am back home and ready to get back on track.

Yesterday I went for my run.  This was the first time I ran in 4 days.  I thought I was going to die.  It was pure torture and I only ran 3.25 miles.  I had to take many walk breaks and it was just not a pretty run.  But hey it is what it is.  I was lax about my running and I paid the price yesterday.

I did not get to do my weigh in last week since we were not home.  I did however jump on the scale yesterday – just out of curiosity –  and it said I gained 2 pounds.  LOL  I am sure this is all alcohol bloat since I drank way more than I should have and was really bad about my water intake.  We will see what the scale says on Friday.  I was under calories yesterday and was good with my water so I am hoping to get my weight back down by the end of this week.

On a plus note:  I signed up for my first marathon – well half marathon – but still I am excited.  I will be doing this in November and I am so excited and nervous about it.  I really need to get my butt moving and start to increase my miles so I can run 13.1 by november.  Hey no problem right????  I only need to run 10 more miles than what I am able to run right now.  LMAO

Thirteen Point Freaking One 2 Women's Light T-Shir

So there will be a lot more running in my future and I see speed training and tempo runs as well.  I signed D up as well.  I asked her if she wanted to do it and she said “sure”.  I don’t think it has quite hit her yet what she agreed to.  LOL  Guess it will hit once we start our long runs over the weekend.

How did you do over the holiday weekend?  Did you eat well and exercise or did you slack off like me?

 
5 Comments

Posted by on May 29, 2012 in Running

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Back to the grind – Marathon Training

  1. loseitbig

    May 29, 2012 at 11:54 am

    Welcome home. You came up here and I am going down there…hehe. I too plan on keeping with my running as long as my back cooperates (if not I am drinking a lot). I am looking forward to running on the beach. I have never done that so, I hope I can manage that. 13.1 is no big deal. Just one at a time. Piece of cake.

     
  2. cookiemonster03

    May 29, 2012 at 1:09 pm

    Half marathon is a terrific distance!!

     
    • Two Moms

      May 30, 2012 at 10:19 am

      I am wondering if I am a little crazy but hey – I guess it could be worse. LOL

       
  3. KJ and the Kids

    May 29, 2012 at 1:48 pm

    My knees hurt. I didn’t run today. Thank you for drinking for me.
    Running on country roads just seems SUPER serene and wonderful.

    Half marathon. piece of cake. 🙂

     
    • Two Moms

      May 30, 2012 at 10:20 am

      Good job running. I take rest days as well. Bio-freeze is my best friend these days. My knees scream after some runs. Make sure you ice as needed. You dont need to be a marathon runner to use ice.

      I drank enough for everyone this weekend. LOL

       

Leave a Reply

