RSS

20 miles to go

30 May

So to stay on track and hit my goal of 1000 miles in 2012, I will need to go 20 miles in the next two days.  That is a lot of miles.  I really must have been slacking off this month.  So tonight D and I will be off for a long bike ride.  This will be good since I was going to take a rest day from running tonight.

Tomorrow baby J and I will be hiking with our moms group so that will help with about a mile.  LOL  But hey it counts.  Tomorrow I will also try to get in a 4 mile run and that will keep me on track for my 500 miles of running this year.  This will count for my long run this week since I will be at a wedding on Saturday.  This will be my first 4 mile run.  I hope it goes well.

Last night I ran intervals.  I had to do this on the treadmill since it was pouring outside.  But hey – it is what it is.  I started out at a 5.3 and then upped it to 6.0 and then back down.  I alternated this for 3.2 miles.  The last two times I upped it was really challenging for me.  I would have been comfortable just staying at my 5.3 for the rest of the run but that was not the purpose of my run so I kept pushing on.  I did 3.2 miles in 35:00  I am hoping to start building up strength and stamina.  I have been reading about intervals, repeats, and tempo runs.  There are so many different things you can do to help get your running up to par.  I find myself running out of days in the week to keep up with all this.  I might have to adjust my schedule a bit.  We will see.

Do you do interval training, repeats or tempo runs?  What does your schedule look like?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 30, 2012 in Running

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “20 miles to go

  1. loseitbig

    May 30, 2012 at 11:53 am

    Come on slacker…hehe. You probably just forgot to log some miles in Chicago…the alcohol made you forget. At least alcohol usually takes the blame for me.

     
    • Two Moms

      May 30, 2012 at 11:58 am

      I think your right. I must have had about 20 miles walking up and down the pier and the museum and then the 5 achres in my uncle back yard. LOL Unfortuntely I dont count that. But that does give me some cushion. I was just a total slacker this month. 🙂 I defiantely blame the alcohol.

       

Leave a Reply

