RSS

Increasing Miles

01 Jun

I am starting to increase the amount of miles I am running.  The plan is to increase by .5 -1 mile for a week or two and then increase again.  I have enough time before the half marathon to increase my miles slowly and not kill my knees doing it.  Last week I ran 3.5 miles and yesterday was the first time I ran 4 miles.  I ran on the treadmill since it has been rainy and nasty out.  This made for a long run.  I had the TV on and headphones in but it was still a boring run.  I swear every minute seemed like 10.

I ran at a 5.3 for the first 2 miles then upped it to 6 for half a mile then back down to 5.3 for 1 mile then up to 6 for half a mile and finished at 5.3.  I ran 4 miles in 44:47 – pace was 11:12 min/mile.  I guess that’s a pretty good pace for now.  I really don’t know what a comfortable long distance pace is yet since I am just getting into my long runs now.  I would like to stay at about an 11 min/mile for the half so I am going to try to train at that pace while I increase my miles.

My knees did really good yesterday.  I didn’t feel like my body couldn’t handle it but I did feel like my mind couldn’t.  After mile 2 my mind kept saying “okay that is good for today”.  I had to keep convincing myself that we were not spotting until we hit 4 miles.  I need to mentally get more prepared for these long runs.  And that sounds so pathetic since 4 miles really is not a long run at all.  What am I going to do when I start running 8 miles?

So I ordered this book on the kindle yesterday.  Half-Marathon You can do it by Jeff Galloway.

Half-Marathon - You Can Do It

I am hoping it will help me prepare more for the half in November.  Also I subscribed to Runners World.  I picked one up at the airport last week and loved that it focused solely on running and not just fitness.  It had some great articles about tempo runs and increasing your speed.

On Wednesday D and I did a 5.25 mile bike ride.  It was a great ride and we rode at an average speed of 9.1 mph.  Baby J kept saying “go faster”.  What better motivation to keep up the speed?  Only bad thing was it was at dusk and the bugs were bad.  I now officially know what a car windshield feels like.  LOL

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 1, 2012 in Running

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Increasing Miles

  1. KJ and the Kids

    June 1, 2012 at 12:20 pm

    Way to go !

     
    • Two Moms

      June 1, 2012 at 3:38 pm

      Thanks, How are your knees feeling?

       

Leave a Reply

