RSS

Rain, Rain, Go Away

07 Jun

The past few days have been rainy here.  There hasn’t been much sun and we are getting bands of rain throughout the day.  Not that we don’t need the rain so I am not complaining but it doesn’t make it very fun to go out and get a run in.  On top of that, yesterday I started getting sick.  I am sure it has absolutely nothing to do with the 500 square feet that 300 people were crammed into as we  flew home last week.  So yesterday I took a rest day to help my body recoup.  Today I was going to take another rest day but I don’t want to run into the same problem with not getting a workout in and my body starting to atrophy.  So I was just going to get on the treadmill and do a short run since it is raining and I’m not feeling well.

Baby J had other plans for the day.  She wanted to go for a bike ride.  I told her it was raining and she said she wanted to go for a bike ride.  I asked her if she wanted to go for a ride in the rain and she said yes.  I looked outside and it was raining but it wasnt raining very hard – more of a light drizzle.  So I checked the radar and there was an open band in the rain.  So I thought – sure why not, let’s go for a bike ride. It’s not raining that hard.

Just in case we did not get back in time before the rain hit again, I decided to take baby J in the pull behind buggy we have.  This way she would stay dry and due to the fact that it was around nap time I figured she would fall asleep on the ride.  So I got her all set up in the buggy and off we went.

The ride was actually kind of refreshing since it was cooler than normal but biking with the extra drag of the buggy was not easy.  Add the fact that about half way into the ride I felt the air in the tires to be low and with me still fighting this cold I seem to be getting and it was not a fun bike ride.  I thought I was going to die!  Yes I am being dramatic here.  It took all I could do to get us home.  I was huffing it pretty bad.  I ended up going 3.12 miles in 23 minutes and burning 273 calories.

Baby J did not fall asleep on the ride and rather enjoyed being able to sit and relax in the buggy.  The rain didn’t really bother me too much either.  I just wish I had more air in the tires.  LOL

Zoey didn’t seem to mind the rain either.

About 10 minutes after we got home it started to pour.  The next band of rain came through.  I’m glad we didn’t get stuck in this.

I love the rain but I wish it was a bit nicer to workout in.  I wouldn’t mind running in the rain but I don’t know how much fun that would be for baby J.

Do you enjoy running or working out in the rain?

 
8 Comments

Posted by on June 7, 2012 in workout

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Rain, Rain, Go Away

  1. loseitbig

    June 7, 2012 at 4:36 pm

    You better make it stop raining down there. I haven’t been to a beach in 10 years. I don’t want to have to play in the sand in the rain.

     
    • Two Moms

      June 7, 2012 at 5:24 pm

      LOL I will make sure it is bright and sunny when you come. I will fly on my broom and clear the sky for you. hehehehe

       
      • loseitbig

        June 7, 2012 at 9:11 pm

        Thanks, but since when do good looking girls fly on brooms?

         
      • Two Moms

        June 7, 2012 at 10:15 pm

        🙂 Aww your too sweet.

         
  2. Terry Tarte

    June 7, 2012 at 4:46 pm

    It is pouring right now. The forecast is for rain to stop by 11:00 PM tonite. You could go for a nite run 🙂 Just kidding.

    Better days ahead!!!

     
    • Two Moms

      June 7, 2012 at 5:25 pm

      LOL I am done for today. Maybe tomorrow. haha

       
  3. mycoffeeinbed

    June 8, 2012 at 10:31 am

    Glad you two made it home in time for the down pour. The little loved it!!!

     
  4. kjandthekids

    June 10, 2012 at 10:24 pm

    Still so beautiful.

     

Leave a Reply

