RSS

Surgery Day!

15 Jun

This morning was my surgery day.  You see I had this freckle that needed to be removed.  See how big and massive it is.  LOL

Yup that small little freckle is the cause of this surgery today.  I will say that it was a bit bigger and darker before the first biopsy.  Since that biopsy came back as “moderately atypical” (abnormal) it had to be removed.  So the procedure I had done today is called a “punch”.  This procedure takes a small tool and takes a punch out of the skin and tissue – kind of like coring the middle of an apple.  The tissue is removed and set for more testing.  This picture shows what I had done.

(photo take from http://www.aspenclinical.com/punch-biopsies)

A few stitches is needed to close the hole afterwards.  So bright and early this morning we headed to the dermatologist.

This is my wonderful sister – Nurse Ratchet!

I was awake during the surgery.  The doctor numbing me up.

Time to start cutting.

And more cutting.

And one more time.

Finally all done cutting.

The hole in my chest – the punch!

Time to stitch it up.  The problem here – I wouldn’t stop bleeding.  Nurse Ratchet told me I bleed like a 90-year-old man.  🙂  hahaha

Three stitches!  Finally all done.

The doctor said it looks beautiful and I should heal nicely with minimal scaring.

Now that the numbing medicine has worn off – I hurt like hell!!  Okay I think its time to drink.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 15, 2012 in life

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Surgery Day!

  1. kjandthekids

    June 15, 2012 at 9:20 pm

    With that scar you can come up with SO many cool stories. Heart surgery. (scoped of course)
    knife fight at the bar. you dry gulched the guy just as the knife pierced your skin.
    OH MY GOSH…I want a scar like that.
    I’m sure I have a mole or freckle that needs to come off.

     
    • Two Moms

      June 16, 2012 at 10:17 am

      LOL I will have to think about this one. hmmm The stories I could tell.

      I can set you up with nurse ratchet if you want to get a few removed. hahahah

       
  2. Carrie Wetzel

    June 16, 2012 at 8:15 am

    Concur….scars make for cool stories!!! You are a trooper. Love that you call your sister nurse ratchet.

     
    • Two Moms

      June 16, 2012 at 10:19 am

      My chest muscles were sore from doing weights the day before and she kept pushing on the punch to get it to stop bleeding and she was killing me. Mostly because I was just sore to begin with. LOL She is totally nurse ratchet! I think she enjoyed it a bit more than she should have. Paybacks for when were kids perhaps??

       

Leave a Reply

