RSS

Additction

22 Jun

I think I have officially become an addict.

I have become addicted to running and racing.  I am constantly looking for races to run.  Since I have signed up for my first half marathon, I have started really concentrating on my training and running.  Last weekend I told a friend that I didn’t think I was going to be able to do the half because I have so many miles I need to increase by and most days I can barely get to 3 miles without feeling like I am going to die.  She told me to be patient and that I would be able to do it.  We talked a lot about running and training and how to add in speed workouts and hill training into my weeks.  I am so appreciative of all her help – Thanks C!

So on Monday I ran my first ever 5 miler and I felt awesome doing it.  I really felt like I could run longer but I didn’t want to over do it.  It was a really good run and I was very happy with myself.  I actually feel like I will be able to run a half and I am hoping that my running  continues to improve and increasing my miles will not be complete torture.

I am running another 5K race tomorrow morning and I am really excited about it.  I am hoping to beat my previous time but the weather conditions are not looking the best.  The weather man says its going to rain for the next 8 days and as much as I would love to think he is correct I am really betting on the other 50% that he is wrong.  I would even take overcast with a slight sprinkle.  But running in a full on rain is not my idea good running conditions, although I will still do it.  🙂

After this weekend we have a 4th of July midnight run scheduled.  This will be a 10K run and D and I are both doing it.  Should be great fun and this will be our longest run to date.

So here is our line up of races:

  • Summer 5K  6/23 – V only
  • Midnight 10K 7/3
  • Obstacle 4 miler 7/3 – D only
  • Beer & Wings 10K 9/16
  • Breast Cancer 10K 10/6
  • Breast Cancer 15K 10/14
  • Lady’s Half Marathon  11/18
  • Paint Run 12/15
  • Pirate Half Marathon 2/24
  • Trail Run 15K  3/9

D is not running tomorrow since she ran last weekend and I watched baby J.  So she is watching baby J tomorrow while I run.  Kind of a give and take I guess.  I am not running the obstacle run because I do not feel confident enough in my knees to make it through.  Plus I dont want to injure myself and screw up my training for the marathon.  So baby J and I will be the cheering section for that race as well.   All of the rest of the races we plan on running together.  As you can see the races increas in milles as we go.  This will be the last 5K I run this year unless I get in a 5K race in August sometime but I have a busy month that month so I dont think that will happen.

So can you see where my addiction has come into play? I have a years worth of races planned and I couldn’t be happier or more excited to run them all.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on June 22, 2012 in Running

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Additction

  1. loseitbig

    June 22, 2012 at 7:07 pm

    That awesome. I wish I could run the races with you. My weekends are crazy. I feel like a taxi driver. I have to stick to running before everyone else gets moving. My race is to be done before anyone knows I’m gone.

     
    • Two Moms

      June 22, 2012 at 8:00 pm

      You are dedicated. That is hard to do. D and I are trying to alternate our running days so one of us is home with baby J. If you ever get a chance to run a race around here let me know, I will be there.

       
  2. JaxCarrie

    June 22, 2012 at 7:40 pm

    told ya girl….it’s so much fun!!! And healthy 🙂 Good luck tomorrow I’m rooting for ya!

     
    • Two Moms

      June 22, 2012 at 7:59 pm

      Thanks – I will be listening for a cow bell.

       
  3. JaxCarrie

    June 22, 2012 at 7:41 pm

    PS….if you lived closer you’d be signed up for 2/month!!!

     
    • Two Moms

      June 22, 2012 at 7:58 pm

      LOL I know I would be. 🙂 And I would love it!

       
  4. Brian Beatty

    June 22, 2012 at 8:46 pm

    welcome to the running scene! looks like you dived right in, awesome!

     
  5. KJ and the Kids

    June 23, 2012 at 10:27 am

    The first step is admitting it.
    Way to go with your list of running. See you at the finish lines.

     

Leave a Reply

