RSS

Summer 5K Race

23 Jun

This morning was my race.  It rained hard last night so I didn’t have high hopes for a dry run.  Never the less – I got up at 4:30 to get some coffee in me and wake up before my 8am race.  D got up shortly after I did and got ready and I woke baby J up at around 5:45.  She was so excited to be able to go cheer me on.  We left the house around 6:20 and got to the race just before 7am.  I got my chip and got all ready for the race.

I even got to wear my race shirt that I didn’t get in time for the last race.  I had some girls cracking up over it today too.

I had a running partner on my warm up laps.  Who could ask for a cuter running partner still in her jammies? Sorry for the crappy pic the camera got wet and we didn’t know it for a few minutes.

There was a slight drizzle of rain the entire race but it wasn’t to bad.  The race started and I was off.  The worst part was there was no breeze what so ever.  The drizzle was not enough to keep you cool enough and the sweat was just pouring off of me in just a few minutes into the run.    D and baby J were just past the starting line.  I got in a quick wave as I ran by.

I kept my pace right at about a 10:30 pace.  I can comfortably run at a 11:00 pace so a 10:30 was pushing it for me.  I tried to stay as close to this pace as I could.  I could feel that I was working harder than I usually do on a run and I was good with that.  I really wanted to push myself just a bit past my comfort zone.  1.5 miles down and I saw my little princess and my wonderful wife cheering me on.  It was a great motivation.  I kept on running.  At 2 miles there was a water station.  I did a quick grab and a pinch on the cup (learning from my last experience) and a gulp of water and kept on trudging along.  At 2.75 miles I started to get a side cramp.  I slowed my pace down to 11:30ish and kept on going.  About this time I got passed my two women pushing jogging strollers.  One had a single jogger and the other a double jogger.  Geez talk about a buzz kill!

I kept on going.  I pushed myself, I yelled at myself, I tried to focus on the finish line.  At 3 miles I was D and baby J again.  I knew I was almost done.

I gave it a good push at the end and I passed a few ladies that I had been running with most of the race.   I was huffing pretty bad coming across the finish line.  I knew I gave it my all.  I felt proud of myself and good about my efforts.

My chip time was 32:00 – I beat my last 5K race my 1:53 – Yay!  I was 327 overall and 31 in my age group.  Not sure how many people were in my age group or the race yet.  The official results were posted but had limited information on it.

D asked me if I was singing at mile 3.  I said “no, why”.  She said “I saw your lips moving and I didn’t know what you were doing.”  I laughed and told her that was when I was having a “not so nice” pep talk with myself.  LOL  I didn’t think anyone saw me do that let alone my wife.  🙂  But sometimes you just need to give yourself a kick in the ass to make it to the finish line and I did!

I had a banana and a bottle (or two) of water after the race.  I didn’t want to eat a bunch of empty calories so I waited until I got home to eat.  My celebratory breakfast – eggs, turkey sausage, and hash browns.  It was so very yummy.

Did you race today?  How did you do?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 23, 2012 in Running

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Summer 5K Race

  1. Jaxcarrie

    June 23, 2012 at 2:57 pm

    So proud of you V!!! Laughing about the pep talk!

     
    • Two Moms

      June 23, 2012 at 3:40 pm

      Thanks. LOL D thought it was funny too.

       
  2. KJ and the Kids

    June 23, 2012 at 7:33 pm

    Well done 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

