RSS

Running In The Rain

24 Jun

Today was my long run day. I planned to run 5 miles today. So last night I set my alarm clock for 5:30am so I can be up and out the door by 6:30. Plan in place – good to go. This morning my alarm goes off and I can hear the rain pouring down. I got up to see how hard it was raining and it was pouring down pretty good. So I decided to scrap the run and go back to bed. I got up around 8:30 and it was still raining. As I sat on my back lanai I kept thinking “wonder how bad it will be to just go run in the rain?”.  I couldn’t shake the idea of just scrapping my run for the day.

So I turned on the weather channel to see how much rain we were going to get today. A LOT! This is tropical storm Debby who is dumping tons of rain on the state today (and has been all week for that matter).

D was up by this time and we discussed me just going out and running anyways since it didn’t look like there would be any brake in the rain today. So I decided to just go ahead and go for it. I got dressed and headed out the door. It was raining but it was doable.

The rain was a refreshing change from my normal hot runs. I was getting wet but it wasn’t horrible. Then I had a car go by and hit a puddle and I was soaked. Nice! Oh well I was still having a good run. There was not a soul out there but me and I was loving it. At about 1.8 miles the rain got heavier. I decided it would be wise to turn around and head back home. I wanted to run but I still wanted to be safe. I could hear the rumblings and I knew I didn’t want to be stuck out in the rain and lighting so I headed back home.

At this point I could feel that my feet were soaked. I could feel the squish of my feet in my shoes with each step.  It didn’t matter, I kept running.  I was enjoying my run and I was enjoying the fact that I was spending my Sunday morning enjoying what God had to offer.  I was in his glory in the rain.  It felt great!

As I turned a corner at mile 3, the rain became a complete downpour and I was drenched.  I kept running enjoying the coolness of the rain as it hit me.  I was almost home.  I put in 3.33 miles this morning.  I really wanted to put in a good 5 but after yesterday’s race and the rain this morning I am happy with the 3 I got in.  I was completely drenched when I got home.  Drenched – but a happy runner!

I even brought the paper in.  LOL

I am really glad I decided to just go for my run.  I know I would be sitting her regretting not going if I hadn’t.

This was my first run in the rain and I have to say that I really enjoyed it.  I am not a fan of wet feet and running in wet shoes is really not my idea of a run time but I didn’t mind it much.  I had a great run and loved the sound of the rain and the peacefulness of the morning.  I will definitely do this again!

Have you ever run in the rain?  How did it feel to you?

 
7 Comments

Posted by on June 24, 2012 in Running

 

Tags: ,

7 responses to “Running In The Rain

  1. roundtoravishing

    June 24, 2012 at 3:12 pm

    I have put off runs while it was raining. I am new to running and the rain is very intimidating for me. I have no idea why either. I always wonder, what will it do to my shoes, will soggy socks give me blisters, what if it is too cold? You know the usual concerns (eh-hem excuses) I make for myself. WTG on your rainy run!

     
    • Two Moms

      June 24, 2012 at 4:05 pm

      I understand the hesitation. I was worried about my footing so I didnt slip or trip on anything. I wore my old pair of running shoes so I wouldnt ruin my new pair and I wore my running socks and I didnt get any blisters. Also the rain was a warm rain, it was still 77 degrees here today so it felt very nice. So no more “concrens” – try it next time. It was run.

       
  2. kjandthekids

    June 24, 2012 at 7:01 pm

    I’m not sure that the rain would deter me. the lightening (if any) might and I wouldn’t want to ruin my mascara. other than that…..sounds like fun 🙂 ha ha ha

     
    • Two Moms

      June 25, 2012 at 8:53 am

      LOL as long as I dont break a nail! That would just do me in.

       
  3. JaxCarrie

    June 24, 2012 at 8:52 pm

    Great commitment lady – i love it!!!! You may be my motivation tomorrow AM as it’s suppose to rain here non-stop overnight/tomorrow. hard to motivate myself to get out there though (but it’s still way better than the dreadmill!)

     
    • Two Moms

      June 25, 2012 at 8:54 am

      You should totally do it! It was great. As long as there is no lightning and I was planning 5 miles and definately did not want to do that inside. UGGG. The rain so was much more run.

       
  4. loseitbig

    June 25, 2012 at 11:40 am

    I saw Debby has been pouring buckets down there. I am glad I got out when I did. I am not a fan of wet shoes either. Nice commitment

     

Leave a Reply

