RSS

Popped A Stitch

26 Jun

I know what you all are thinking – How in the world did you pop a stitch?  Well here it is.  Most days when I am in the car it is just baby J and I so, I tend to her needs as best I can while driving.  This means passing juice or snacks back and forth to her or changing the DVD as needed.  This hasn’t been a problem up until now.  So we are in the car and D is with us this time, I reached back to take the juice cup from baby J and I felt a rip and pain in the middle of my chest where my stitches are at.  I knew instantly what it was and I knew I ripped my stitches open.  At the time I just didn’t know how many I ripped out.  D says “why did you do that?  I would have given it to her.”  Well because it is second nature for me to do this all the time so I didn’t think about it before I did it.

So after coming home and assessing the damage, I saw I only popped the middle stitch.  This is not good because that is the main stitch to keep the hole closed.  It tore from the left side but was still attached to the right side.  So I had my mom come over to help me remove the one stitch.  This was an event in itself since the stitches are so tight that it was really difficult trying to get it out, not to mention painful.  I am feeling light headed just thinking about it.  Let’s just say I don’t do well with my own body being injured or the sight of my own blood or the combination of the two.  This usually results in me passing out.  Oh loads of fun.  Finally we got the stitch out and I did not pass out.

So it’s not looking good now.  I cleaned it out with peroxide and applied some triple antibiotic ointment.  I tried to sterie strip it but the area is just a really bad area and it’s not working so well.  So the best option I have at the moment is to keep it as tight as possible and keep it from getting infected.

I am now using an ointment my sister told me to use to help with infection.

It hurt today while I ran and I haven’t had that feeling in a while.  So it should be an interesting few days.  The other two stitches will come out on Friday.  I am hoping it looks better by then.

Oh and my sister tells me “take it easy and try not to pop any other stitches”  LOL  Oh yeah like that is going to happen with my life and a 2 year old. 🙂  But hey she was trying right?  Hahaha  I guess motherhood and stitches don’t go well together.  I am also guessing I am going to end up with an even bigger scar than originally thought.  So what do you guys think?  Gun shot wound?  Stab?  Object came flying through my windshield and lodged into my chest?  HMMMM the possibilities.  LOL

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 26, 2012 in life

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Popped A Stitch

  1. loseitbig

    June 27, 2012 at 9:37 am

    Shark Attack.

     
  2. roundtoravishing

    June 27, 2012 at 12:54 pm

    The strange looking scar I have on my arm (steam burn) I tell people is from a freak Octopus Attack from my last trip to Mexico. Just keep the story outrageous, it is more fun that way and you would be surprised on what people will actually believe!

     
    • Two Moms

      June 27, 2012 at 9:45 pm

      OMG that is hilarious. I love it.

       

Leave a Reply

