RSS

6 months and a 10K

02 Jul

I honestly cannot believe that it has been almost 6 months since I started this transformation in my life.  In 8 days I will be celebrating my 6 month victory but I have celebrated so many smaller victories along the way.  Tomorrow will be another one of those victories.  Tomorrow I will be running my very first 10K race.  10K!!!  That is 6.2 miles!  I am excited and terrified all at the same time.

Six months ago I couldn’t run more than 30 seconds without stopping and walking.  My knees hurt so bad, I just wanted to cry.  I kept going, I made myself stronger, I worked at it, and I kept moving forward.  Tomorrow I will be putting all this training to the test.  I have never run 6.2 miles before, even in my training.  Sunday I did a long run and I ran 5.25 miles – my longest run to date.  I am very proud of that and I feel confident that I will be able to add one more mile to this distance in the race tomorrow.

Although at the same time I am terrified that I won’t be able to go that last mile.  I know it will be a mental battle more than a physical battle.  I know my body can do it – I need to convince my mind that I can do it.  I need to keep my pace on track and I believe I will do just fine.  Mental toughness is truly just as important as physical toughness.

This will be a challenge for me.  I am not only adding another mile to my longest run, I am also running all this in the dark.  This 10K run will start at midnight tomorrow.  It will be lots of fun and a great way to ring in the 4th of July – not to mention fireworks for my 10K victory will be so much fun.  I am hoping to finish 6.2 miles in 1 hour and 15 minutes.  That is the goal.  It is not a fast goal but it is a finish goal.

D will also be running this 10K with me.  She has been doing so great with her training as well.  I am very proud of how far she has come.  Saturday she ran 5 miles – her longest run to date as well.  This will also be her first 10K.  I’m not sure if she is as nervous as I am of all this but I think we will both do well.

I can look back on my first run.  I know how hard it was.  I know how bad it hurt.  If you told me in January that I would be running a 10K in six months, I would have told you “you’re nuts”.  I have to remember that if it was easy everyone would do it.  I know I have accomplished something more than I ever thought I could.

While we get to go run at midnight, baby J gets to go spend the night with her cousins at my sisters.  She always has a good time and is already excited to go have fun and sleep over.

I have my glow sticks ready to go!  Yay.  Should be a great time.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 2, 2012 in Running

 

Tags: ,

One response to “6 months and a 10K

  1. loseitbig

    July 3, 2012 at 8:38 am

    Sounds exciting and fun. Nerves are a good check that something special is going to happen. This will be a piece of cake for you. Good Luck!

     

Leave a Reply

