RSS

Midnight 10K Run

05 Jul

I did it!  I ran my first 10K.  It feels great to know that I have accomplished this goal.  It felt even better to know that D was out there with me.  We also had a friend of ours running with us and another friend came to cheer us on.  J is a runner and 6.2 miles was no big deal for him but it was still great to have him out there.  He never ran a 10K race before so it was cool to have it be his first race as well.

So this was a midnight run on July 3rd so technically it was the very early morning of July 4th that we were running.  We got there about 9:30 that night since parking was going to be a pain in the butt.  We also had to get our race packets and everything since they didn’t have early packet pickup anywhere.  There were also record numbers of people at the race this year.  I believe there were well over 2000 people racing that night.  So we got our race packets and we checked out the vendors and stuff and then we just hung out at the car and did some trunk dancing.  LOL  My girl C and I got our groove on!  hahaha  We also had glow sticks.

There were 3 races that night – a 1 mile, a 5K, and a 10K.  The other two races went first and then at 12:15 the 10K race started. The weather was great – cool with a bit of a breeze.

I was a bit irritated that this race was “chip timed” but they did not have a start mat.  So the times were just when you crossed the finish line and not an accurate time of your race.  To me – if you are going to have a chip timed race you need to have a start time and finish time of each chip, not just a finish time.   This was so VERY irritating to me!

Time to get all lined up.  We started out a bit more in the back of the pack since I figured we would be the slower ones anyways.  So off we went.  I started my Garmin when I crossed the start line.  I kept my pace slow and steady and I let people pass me as we started out.  D took off fairly quick and J was already out of sight.  The first hill was at about mile 1.  This was up a draw bridge.  This is also where I passed D.  I did really well on this hill and I passed quite a few runners.  At the top of the bridge the road turned to the grate of the draw bridge.  This was very awkward to run on.  I didn’t feel like I had good footing at all and I was trying to just not fall or trip so I really focused on my foot work here.  I used the down-hill to my advantage and passed a few more runners – then back to my slow-steady pace.  I did notice that my slow-steady pace seemed to be a bit faster than my usual slow-steady pace but I was feeling good so I kept going.

The second hill came at mile 2.  This hill was a bit smaller than the first.  Again I did really well and passed a few runners and then the same on the way down.  At 2.5 miles we entered onto an island and there were no street lights.  The path was lined with milk jugs that had tea lights in them.  It was really beautiful to run along in the dark with just the candle light and the moon to light the way.

The turn around was just past 3.5 miles.  The race was an out and back.  So I made the turn and headed back.  I saw D after I made the turn.  She was not that far behind me.  I knew I had to keep pushing so she wouldn’t pass me.  No I am not competitive at all!  🙂

At about 4 miles I felt like I hit a huge wall.  I was tired. I wanted to walk.  I wanted to be done.  I had a pep talk with myself here and I told myself to keep going.  I have run this far before and I can do this, if I need to slow down then do it but keep running, no walking.  Just keep going!  I also prayed that God would give me the strength to keep going.  It was peaceful and I talked and prayed and slowed my pace and kept going.  At 4.7 miles I knew I only had 1.5 miles to go.  I tried to convince myself that I was just out for an easy 1.5 mile run and it was no big deal.  I could see the draw bridge up ahead.  I was getting close.  I could see the other runners around me getting tired.  Some started walking and others just slowed down.  I tried my best to keep my pace.  I passed more runners.  Then I came to the draw bridge. I knew I needed to hit this bridge the same as when I started – and I did!  When I do hills I always tell myself the same thing “keep digging, keep digging, keep digging”.   I passed more runners that stopped and walked the bridge.  I kept digging and came to the top of the bridge.  Again the grate was awkward but I was more confident this time around.  Down the bridge and I was almost done.  I didn’t feel like I had much left to give but I gave it my all.  I saw J and C right before the final turn. J was done with the race and they were cheering me on.  I gave them a thumbs up and I made the final turn to the finish line.  I picked up my pace.  I did not have the energy to sprint but I did go as fast as I could.

I crossed that finish line and it felt wonderful.  I ran 6.2 miles.  I did it!  I went to get some water and then went back to see D finish.  It was great to see her finish.  I was so proud of her.  She did great.

Now since the official chip time is not an actual official chip time I am going to take my official time off my Garmin.  So here are the final times.  There were 648 runners in the 10K race.

J finished in 53:01.  His pace was 8:39 and he finished 192 overall.  He finished 146 out of 339 for overall men and 30 out of 49 for his age group.  I was told to let you know that he was the oldest in his age group and he was running against triathletes that were in town for a triathlon.  Also the sun was in his eyes.  LOL  Love you J!

I finished in 1:07:20.  My pace was 10:58 and I finished 508 overall.  I finished 216 out of 309 for overall women and 34 of 53 for my age group.  I am really happy with my time.  It’s a good starting point for a 10K.

D finished in 1:11:21.  Her pace was 11:37 and she finished 580 overall.  She finished 263 out of 309 for overall women and 44 out of 49 for her age group.  I am really proud of her time.  She did awesome.  I also have to give my wife tons of credit here.  She totally forgot her sports bra and had to run in her normal bra.  The underwire ended up digging into her chest and she was bleeding before the race was over.   She also had issues with her shorts chaffing and she had a huge mark on her inner thigh that was rubbed raw from that.   You could tell she was in a lot of pain from that and she still kept pushing through.  She did an amazing job!  Way to go babe!

Here is my Garmin Info:

And my splits:

I will say that I was really sore and uncomfortable that night.  I had a hard time sleeping and I put Bio-Freeze on my knees and took some pain meds to help with the inflamation.  I know I pushed myself and I know I had a good race.

So there you have it.  Our first 10K!  It was really a great experience and I think we will have to do this again next year.

This was my victory drink of choice for the 4th of July.  It helped keep me awake for fireworks last night and made the pain go away.  LOL  Nothing 4 shots of Vodka and 2 red bulls won’t fix.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on July 5, 2012 in Running

 

Tags: , , , , ,

11 responses to “Midnight 10K Run

  1. erinHasThoughts

    July 5, 2012 at 11:01 am

    that race sounds AWESOME!! I completely agree on the chip timer though! Whats the point of doing it that way if they aren’t going to record your accurate time?!

     
    • Two Moms

      July 5, 2012 at 11:51 am

      Agreed! Really not cool. But the race was awesome.

       
  2. d

    July 5, 2012 at 11:37 am

    Also I have about 20 mosquito bites to go with my chaff and skinless chest! Yet, I am stoked to run again soon. I am addicted. 🙂

     
    • Two Moms

      July 5, 2012 at 11:50 am

      I forgot about those. Yup you poor baby. Your such a trooper!

       
  3. loseitbig

    July 5, 2012 at 11:45 am

    Congrats for getting it done. I knew you could do it and I was anxiously waiting for this post. I am glad I don’t have to worry about the type of bra I am wearing but, for a running girl isn’t having a sports bra kind of like wearing running shoes? I am sure that would be like running the final couple of miles with blisters on your feet. I hope she is ok. Once again good job.

     
    • Two Moms

      July 5, 2012 at 11:55 am

      Thank you. I feel good about it. Glad I have readers anxiously waiting for my posts. Well at least one. LOL

      Yes a good sports bra is like a good pair of shoes. This was a huge mistake that will NEVER happen again. Lesson definately learned. Chaffing and blisters are no fun to run with.

       
  4. Terry Tarte

    July 5, 2012 at 12:55 pm

    Great accomplishment! I am very impressed. Keep up the good work!!!!!

    Ready for Superhero Scramble next?

     
    • Two Moms

      July 5, 2012 at 1:58 pm

      LOL That is all D 🙂

       
  5. kjandthekids

    July 5, 2012 at 2:58 pm

    NICE !
    You wouldn’t be where you are today if’n you weren’t a little competitive. Way to go.

     
  6. JaxCarrie

    July 8, 2012 at 3:19 pm

    Ladies…way to go – you really rocked this! Proud of you both…I would have liked that course…the jugs/tea lights look really cool.
    D – bag balm (green tin) works well to prevent chaffing…cheaper than body glide and has more staying power than vaseline (also, if you get feet blisters)….put a thin layer of vaseline on your toes, arches, heels, and then non-cotton socks…I have found that helps a lot.
    Can’t wait for Superhero Scramble!!!!

     
    • Two Moms

      July 9, 2012 at 8:48 am

      Thanks girl! It was a really great course. Next year you will have to come run it with us.
      I told D about the bag balm. I will have to get some of that. Thanks.

       

Leave a Reply

