RSS

Running Shorts

08 Jul

I never ran in shorts before.  I know this may sound weird but I bought Capri pants instead of shorts when I started running in January for a few reasons.  First was because I was fat and didn’t feel the need to have any more skin than need be exposed to the world.  Second was due to the fact that my thighs rubbed together when I walked let alone run and I didn’t need to be pulling shorts out of my lady parts over and over again.  If you ever had to do that – you know this is not a fun thing to do and definitely not a fun thing to do when you’re trying to look like you’re not doing it.  So Capri running pants it was.  I love them.  I have never had any problems with them and they stay in place with no riding or chaffing.

This pic was from my first run but I always wear the same kind of capri pants.  You get the idea.

Well today we went to the store and totally hit the jackpot on the clearance rack for running shorts.  These shorts were marked down to 21.98 and then on clearance for another 50% off.  So I figured it was the perfect time to get a few pair and try them out.  They are not the best of colors but hey for 10 bucks I will not complain.

As I am standing there picking through the clearance rack I came across a running skirt.  D was standing at another rack a little ways away.  I grabbed the skirt and hollered over to D “Look a skirt. Think I should get a running skirt babe?”  Then I hear “Oh yes you should definitely get it”  from someone on the other side of the rack I was looking through.  There was another lady looking at the rack and heard my question to D.  The lady then says “We may be runners but we can still look sexy.  This one is a nice short length as well.  You will really like running in a skirt.”.  LOL  I told her I think I will get one.  She said she was getting one as well and told me the Nike ones run a bit small so to make sure I tried it on.  Okay cool, thanks for the advice lady!   D thought it was a hilarious conversation the lady and I had.  I rather enjoyed it and appreciated her experience with a running skirt.  So I also bought an awesome running skirt!  I’m so excited to try this one out.  Also on clearance – 20 bucks!

So tonight I tried out my new running shorts.  I was a bit hesitant but I figured what the hell.  I did put some body glide on my thighs just in case.  Then I headed out for my run.  I knew in a matter of minutes that I was not a fan of running shorts.  They started to ride up and I was so grateful for the glide I had applied before I left.  You see although I have lost weight and my thighs are smaller they still rub together while I run.  I thought it wouldn’t be so bad and it really wasn’t the end of the world and I think I could probably get use to running in the shorts but tonight just was not that night.

I also noticed that I was soaked by the time I got home so I am not sure if the shorts kept me any cooler than the Capri pants do.  Every inch of my shirt was soaked – expect for the place of my sports bra.  I thought that was funny.

But seriously – please tell me I am not the only one who sweats like this.  I mean really, look at this!  It’s totally gross.  I literally rang out the sweat out of my headband.  Aren’t I a sexy beast!!   LOL

What do you think of running shorts?  What is your preferred running gear?

 
14 Comments

Posted by on July 8, 2012 in Running

 

Tags: , , , ,

14 responses to “Running Shorts

  1. Deb Carson

    July 8, 2012 at 10:27 pm

    Love shorts!!! cant imagine wearing anything longer than shorts for running. i havent had much trouble with them riding up and never as far as riding up into my lady parts! eeww a running camel toe!! :O

     
    • Two Moms

      July 9, 2012 at 8:43 am

      D loves shorts as well and wont run in anything else either. I just dont get it. LOL My thighs must just be too fat for shorts. Camel toes are just no fun! hahaha

       
  2. JaxCarrie

    July 9, 2012 at 8:30 am

    Try the skirt next….I LOVE running skirts. HATE shorts…although I’ve had some success with bike shorts (tight spandex’y ones that aren’t too long). Have the same problem with traditional shorts..my shorts-eating-crotch takes over…I could lose 20 more lbs and they’d still touch…just the way I’m built.

    I sweat like a pig. We live in FLA…I embrace it 🙂 Just rehydrate.

     
    • Two Moms

      July 9, 2012 at 8:45 am

      You and I are built the same because I think I could lose 20 more pounds and still have the same problem. LMAO Shorts-Eating-Crotch!!!1 OMG that is the perfect term for it.

       
  3. loseitbig

    July 9, 2012 at 9:16 am

    You are sexy,but I wouldn’t go as far as a beast. I sweat like crazy too. This might be from the wind while I am running but, my clothes get soaked as I am running but when I am stopped I start dripping puddles…hehe. I need to try running in a skirt. Spandex give me really ugly moose knuckles.

     
    • Two Moms

      July 9, 2012 at 9:24 am

      Thanks hun. Glad to know I am not the only sweaty pig out there. I think I would rather see you in a skirt than spandex and moose knucles. LOL I have a nice pink one if you would like to borrow it.

       
  4. Tammy

    July 9, 2012 at 9:21 am

    I actually think the more fit you get the more you sweat instead of less. I know that happened to me when I was a runner (many moons ago)! You look great in the shorts, but don’t think I would like strange actions by lady parts or crotch eating shorts!

     
    • Two Moms

      July 9, 2012 at 9:26 am

      I am beginning to think that as well. I seem to sweat so much easier now that I have lost weight. I wonder if it has to do with the fact that I drink so much more water now as well. Either way – its just not pretty. 🙂 But I’m not out to look pretty while I run – I want to look sexy as hell when I am not running. LOL

       
  5. d

    July 9, 2012 at 9:38 am

    OMG! LMAO Moose Knuckles(@loseitbig) ha ha…. I think we should just do one of those naked runs! Just need sports sun-tan lotion!!

     
    • Two Moms

      July 9, 2012 at 9:43 am

      I dont think I could run naked. Too much flapping around for me. LMAO

       
    • loseitbig

      July 9, 2012 at 1:20 pm

      I think me and D are off on a sun-tan lotion only run. I am at work and you made me laugh at just the thought of me doing that.

       
  6. Tiffany

    July 10, 2012 at 12:35 pm

    I have had almost identical moments with running shorts! “look they are on sale! And they are cheaper than capri’s”. “all I have to do is apply EXTRA body glide and l will be fine” and finally when I try them, “what in the world was I thinking??!!?? I am definitely only running 3 miles instead of 5”. But for some reason I still hold out hope that things will change 😉

     
    • Two Moms

      July 10, 2012 at 1:45 pm

      Yup sounds pretty much exactly my thoughts. Maybe some day when I weight 100 pounds and have not fat thighs – I will give them another try. LOL

       
  7. cookiemonster03

    July 11, 2012 at 3:14 pm

    I want to wear running shorts. I have my eye on a little skirty at lululemon to be honest, but for now, my chubrub sticks to capris 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

