RSS

Elliptical – Cross Training

10 Jul

I have been going back and forth on whether or not to get an elliptical for the house.  I wanted to get something that I can cross train on.  While I like biking it has gotten hotter and it’s too hot for baby J in the buggy.  She ends up just as sweaty as I am before it’s all over with.  So I went online and started looking at elliptical machines.  I guess they are like treadmills when it comes to price.  You can get a cheaper one or you can spend a fortune on one or anything in between.

My main use for it will be to do about 30-45 minutes on it before I do weights two days a week.  I want to get my heart rate up before doing weights so that I can get maximum calorie burn.  Lately I have been doing a short 1.5 mile run before weights but I want to do something else.  I don’t want to run 5 days a week.

So after pricing the elliptical and checking out the reviews, I decided to go ahead and get one that was fairly inexpensive.  It’s nothing fancy but it will get the job done and it got pretty good reviews.  So I broke down and finally got one.  It was delivered yesterday.

Baby J thought the box needed to be more colorful.  🙂

Of course assembly was required.

The box said easy assembly.  With all these pieces I was a bit skeptical.

Baby J is a great helper.  I am handy for the most part but tend to get injured during the process.  Not sure why that is??  LOL  On this particular day I smashed my hand in between the pedal and the bar.  I thought I was going to die.  It hurt so bad I didn’t know if I broke it and I couldn’t get it out.  Oh yeah nice move V!  Then after that I dropped the wrench on my head.  Then I got pissed and went to get some real tools.  I mean seriously why would they give you this

when you really need this!

I have no idea why I didn’t think of that earlier but I didn’t and I learned my lesson on using cheap tools that come in the box.  Damn it!  Good thing this girl has tools!!

Finally I got it all put together.

I think we need to rearrange the gym a bit to make it fit more comfortably but for now its fine.  I was surprised that I could feel the burn in my legs when I hopped on it.  Even after running as long as I have you can tell it works different muscles.  I’m so excited to try this out today with my workout.

How do you like to cross train?

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 10, 2012 in workout

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Elliptical – Cross Training

  1. loseitbig

    July 10, 2012 at 4:24 pm

    I hope your hand is better. The tools they give you never are very good. I think I have a whole tool box drawer full of rounded allen wrenches that came in the box. I am too lazy to cross train. I do use an elliptical at the gym at work when I don’t get to run outside. I agree every thing hits muscles slightly different. I noticed this when I went on a bike ride over the weekend.

     
  2. Deb Carson

    July 10, 2012 at 5:02 pm

    I like aerobics. Definately alot of lateral movements which uses different muscles. i hate ellipticals but would like to try the bowflex that combines the treadnill, elliptical and stepper.

     

Leave a Reply

