RSS

Early Morning Start

13 Jul

This morning D got up at 5:30 to go to work.  She got showered and ready to leave.   Then she sneaks back in bed for a few and I get a goodbye kiss.  Sometimes the dog is up and needs to be let out before she leaves, other times she sleeps in until I get up and let her out later.  This morning was a morning that the dog was up and wanted to be let out.  So D goes to let her out.

As she opens the door she set off the alarm system and the entire house it hit with a high pitched ringing siren.  We run to get to the alarm panel to turn the alarm off and baby J wakes up screaming.  D goes in to calm her down and my phone starts ringing – it’s the alarm company calling since the alarm was set off.  I confirm with the alarm company that we are safe and explain to them that we set off our own alarm trying to let the dog out this morning.  We then explain to baby J that mama set off the alarm and that it was really loud but everything is okay now.  The dog finally gets to go outside.  All of this before 6 am.

If you have ever had the pleasure of waking up to the ear piercing siren of your alarm system – you know this is not a fun process.

D tried her best to get baby J back to bed before she left but that wasn’t going to happen.  So she hops into bed with me and we watch an episode of Clifford the Big Red Dog.

After that is over I am told she doesn’t want to watch that anymore.  Since we have very basic cable she doesn’t have very many options for morning cartoons.  So we hit the Netflix.  LOVE me some Netflix.  So I scroll through and ask her what she wants to watch.  Now with Netflix she has a million options to choose from.  She can choose anything from Dora to Clifford to Strawberry Shortcake to My Little Pony.  You get the picture.  She then tells me she wants to watch “made”.  This means she wants to watch “How it’s made”.  LOL  My 2 year old chooses to watch How it’s made instead of cartoons.  This totally cracks me up.  Not that I am complaining because I love this show and would rather watch this than my millionth episode of Dora the Explorer any day of the week.

So it is now 7 am and baby J and I are lying in bed watching how they make bagels, vinyl records, and metal chains.  I love it!  Wonder if she will be some sort of engineer when she gets older.

Have you ever had the pleasure of waking up to an alarm system?  Does your little one surprise you with some of the things they choose to watch?

 
8 Comments

Posted by on July 13, 2012 in life

 

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “Early Morning Start

  1. d

    July 13, 2012 at 7:37 am

    Sorry about the alarm, but a little early morning learning can’t hurt. Right? Must be Friday the 13th, hope this is the extent of it. Your turn next time!

     
    • Two Moms

      July 13, 2012 at 9:50 am

      LOL Too early for a friday! Hope the rest of Friday the 13th is better. 🙂

       
  2. loseitbig

    July 13, 2012 at 8:50 am

    WOW…it is friday the 13th…pretty eerie. I know what you mean about the shows. My 4 year old daughter right now wants to watch the “Magic show”. This is really Breaking the Magician’s Code on the Biography channel. I have no clue but with the cute assistants I am ok watching it with her. The only bad thing is she says it gives her bad dreams…Just an excuse to not go to her bed in into mom and dad’s bed. She is playing us.

     
    • Two Moms

      July 13, 2012 at 9:52 am

      Its funny that she is into a Magicians show. Cute. You wonder if they really understand it all? You may have a future magician on your hands there.

       
  3. KJ and the Kids

    July 13, 2012 at 6:44 pm

    ok so funny story. When Syd was little we would record Mr. Rogers and let her watch it. He sometimes had a “how it was made” segment and we LOVED it. We would stay up and watch them at night before deleting them 🙂 ha ha ha
    We were THRILLED when How it was Made came on. I considered making a series myself we loved it so much.
    Great taste J

     
    • Two Moms

      July 13, 2012 at 11:22 pm

      Some of the things they show is really fascinating to watch. I am amazed at how some things are made. J loves the ones that have to do with food or animals. I think we watched the one where chickens are hatched and the one where cows are milked about a hundred times. They just never get old to her. 🙂 Sydney has good taste as well.

       
  4. h2babybump

    July 13, 2012 at 9:36 pm

    Lulu is my 5 year old and she LOVES How it Works. She often chooses to watch that or Georgetown Cupcakes on her Kindle Fire. It’s pretty funny. They love The Big Bang Theory, but that’s because I love it. Thanks for stopping by the blog…can’t wait to read up on yours now that I’ve found it!

     
    • Two Moms

      July 13, 2012 at 11:24 pm

      OMG I love the big bang theory. I am waiting for it to come on netflix so I can see them all. I think we all will have some pretty smart girls on our hands which will be wonderful.

       

Leave a Reply

