RSS

Work Hard – Play Hard

15 Jul

This morning I had a long run scheduled. So last night I set my alarm clock for 5 am so I could get out of the house before the heat and humidity hit. I didn’t sleep well last night and I was really not looking forward to getting up early to do a long run – 6 miles to be exact.  The fact that I was out drinking last night probably didn’t help the matter any but hey, it is what it is.  So the alarm goes off at 5 and of course I hit the wonderful off button.  Good thing I know myself well enough that I set a second alarm for 6 am.  When that one went off I did get up.  I got a cup of coffee, had bathroom time, and then got ready for my run.  I was out the door by 7 am.  Surprisingly, I didn’t feel as bad as I thought I would after a night of drinking.

I started my run and was feeling pretty good.  I started sweating instantly and I swear it was all the alcohol leaving my system.  LOL  I then started to convince myself that I could just do an easy 3 mile run today and be okay.  Then I told myself to suck it up and do my run.  So I did.  I had a beautiful view this morning as I ran.

Nothing like hot air balloons overhead in the morning air.  Just beautiful!

I had absolutely no intentions of walking and I was doing well.  Then all of a sudden right at 4 miles I took a step and my other foot just stopped next to my first one.  I came to a complete stop.  My body evidently needed a short break.  I was surprised that my body just stopped that way because my mind had nothing to do with it.  So I walked for a few minutes and regained myself.  Then I picked my run back up.  I felt really good for the next 1.5 miles and then at 5.5 miles my knees were done.  I could feel the ach in them.  Just at that point the song on my ipod changed – Eye of the Tiger came on.  Funny how that happened!  I pushed through and finished 6.23 miles in 1:08:25.  Not bad considering I took a walk break.

Then I spent the rest of the day here with another beautiful view!

D and baby J built a sandcastle.

We lounged around and enjoyed the sun. Such a wonderful way to relax after a long run!

How did you spend your day?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 15, 2012 in Running

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

