RSS

Birthday Planning

14 Aug

Well baby J will be 3 soon.  Yes – you heard me right – my baby girl is going to be 3.  I am still in denial.  I can still very vividly recall the day she was born.  With all due respect to the women who say you don’t remember that part once the child is born – You’re freaking nuts!!   *Of course this is said with nothing but love for you all*  I clearly remember every detail of that day including the infamous “ring of fire” but that is a different story.  I just cannot believe it has almost been 3 years from that day.

We have started to plan her birthday party.  We have the location set and paid for and the lady at the place asks me to let her know what the theme will be and they will match the colors of the plates and whatnot to the colors of her theme.  I told her I was pretty sure it would be My Little Pony.  You might recall we own every My Little Pony ever made.  I can walk into any room of my house and there will be at least one Pony there.  You can see that in this post.  Pony’s.  So I assumed it was a safe bet to say we would be having a My Little Pony party.  Well you know what they say about assuming things!  Yup my almost 3 year old did that to me.  As we are standing there and I am telling the lady it will be My Little Pony, baby J says “No mommy, No Mommy.  I want mermaid party.”

WHAT???  Seriously?  Where did this come from?   My daughter does not have anything that is The Little Mermaid – NOTHING!  A few months ago she watched Ariel’s Beginnings but that was a few months ago and that was it.  She has not requested anything pertaining to The Little Mermaid and we still do not own anything that has that on it.  So I politely tell the lady that I will get back to her on the exact theme, since my beautiful daughter so politely called me out in front of her.  She just smiled and said to let her know in time for the party.

As we start to leave I say to baby J “Don’t you want a Pony party? You have all those Pony’s you should really have a Pony party.”   She again tells me no she wants a mermaid party.  Again – Seriously??  I have spent hundreds of dollars on My Little Pony that I could have probably bought stock in them and been money ahead and for months it has been nothing but Pony, Pony, Pony and you are going to tell me we are not even going to do your birthday party in My Little Pony?   YUP that is exactly what she is telling me.  No matter how hard I tried to convince her that we should do a My Little Pony party the answer remains no.  So despite my best efforts to persuade her to my side, my baby girl is strong willed and is not backing down on this one.

Okay Fine!  Farewell My Little Pony.  You will be missed.

Hello – The Little Mermaid.

I guess I should get use to this now since the past week this is all baby J has talked about.  I am thinking it might have something to do with the fact that she is swimming now and in the water a lot – much like The Little Mermaid.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 14, 2012 in life

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Birthday Planning

  1. loseitbig

    August 14, 2012 at 9:34 am

    I am smiling the whole time while reading this. Aren’t kids the best! I have been shocked numerous times just like you. I thought for sure they would want one thing and then…Where did that come from? Your favorite color has been yellow from day one. NO! I will not let you cheer for Denver Broncos just because Peyton is their QB. We are Colts fans…lol. I thought you loved Cub Scouts, now you want to do 4H.

     
    • Two Moms

      August 14, 2012 at 10:33 am

      This one was totally out of left field for me. I did her invites last night and I am still shocked that they are little mermaid and not little ponys. LOL I love the way her mind works and the stuff that she comes up with. Guess its Gods way of keeping us on our toes and enjoying our kids. They really are the best.

       

Leave a Reply

