RSS

Long Run – 7 Miles

02 Sep

Today I ran 7 miles.  I was very happy to get all my miles in today.  This was a great feeling.  My miles were not fast by any means but I did get all 7 in – 7.15 to be exact.  This is what I saw when I started my run.

I do have to say that my knees have definitely not been cooperating with me.  They have been screaming on every run lately, even the short ones.  Also with the groin pull I have been fighting, running has been anything but run.

Remember this book I am reading.

In the book they talk about your first half marathon and talk about what your goal is.  My goal is to finish a half marathon.  I don’t want to set any records or have my fastest time ever – I just want to finish.  So the book says that the half marathon should be a fun experience and one you want to do again.  So it recommends a run, walk, run approach.  Basically depending on what your normal pace is you calculate what your run, walk, run breakdown should be.  I went off of a 10:00 min/mile pace.  This is ambitious for me but I am good with that.  So the book recommends I run for 4 minutes then walk for 1 minute and repeat the entire race.

At first I was reading this and thinking “that’s not running”, but as I continued reading it made sense for me to give it a try.  My knees are screaming, my groin is fighting and I am not enjoying my runs anymore.  The concept is to give your muscles a rest period before they get over tired.  The short walk gives them a minute to get extra oxygen to help them last longer.  Okay I figure this guy might know what he is talking about since he has run many marathons and now wrote a book.  LOL

So I decided to give this a try.  I tried it last week and it was weird for me but I did okay with it.  Today I did it on my 7 miles.  I did 7 miles in 1:24:41 – average 11:51 pace.  I thought that was pretty good.  My knees did pretty well, my groin was happier and I had a pretty good run.  So maybe I am onto something here.  I am going to continue to try this method this week on my 8 miles I have planned for next Sunday and see how it works out.  But I would be happy to finish my first half marathon under a 12:00 pace. I have since changed my thoughts on “that’s not running”.  It really is running with short walk breaks.

Here is my run today.  You can see the run, walk, run concept.

Here are my splits.

After my run I had a protein shake and scrambled eggs with polish sausage and cheese.  It was so good.

What do you like to eat after your runs?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 2, 2012 in Running

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “Long Run – 7 Miles

  1. Terry Tarte

    September 3, 2012 at 1:54 pm

    Good solution! Lets you stay in shape while healing.

     
    • Two Moms

      September 3, 2012 at 5:48 pm

      Yes I cannot afford to be injured. Definately not the plan. 🙂

       
  2. loseitbig

    September 4, 2012 at 9:21 am

    You are going to half a blast running your halfer. I bet you do set your personal record. I know because I think this will be your first one. You will have so, much fun you will do another and then want to do a full marathon…and then you are going to call me and we are doing a 100 miler running the keys (I have never run a full marathon go big or stay home). I have a hard time walking and then starting again. My legs just feel so heavy. I feel like I have to get them warmed back up to run again but, you already know this…I’m weird. The thing I like after my run is coffee. I am too lazy to make anything else.

     
    • Two Moms

      September 4, 2012 at 12:34 pm

      LOL Lets see if I can finish my half first. hahaha The thing with doing short run/walk intervals is that your legs dont feel heavy afterwards since they are not pushed to exhaustion before you walk. That is the trick to doing it. Oh my coffee is a MUST before I run along with some bathroom time. LOL

       

Leave a Reply

