RSS

Rainy 8 Miles

09 Sep

Yesterday D got up and ran 8 miles.  She had a beautiful day and did a great job.  Today was my day to do my long run.  I set my alarm for 6 and when I rolled over to turn it off I hear a crash of thunder and the sound of pouring rain.  OF COURSE!!!  Why would it be a nice morning for my long run?  So I waited for a bit to see if it would subside.  No such luck.  So at 9am I went out for my 8 mile run in the rain.  I really don’t mind running in the rain but the thought of getting my ass fried by lightning scares me.

So I went out for my run praying that I would not get struck by lightning.  I got 5 miles in and I just wanted to be done.  Running in the rain is kind of depressing.  Mile 6 and 7 sucked and Mile 8 was just a bitch all together.  I was soaked by the time I was done and my shoes were sopping wet.  I am so glad these 8 miles are over.  My time was pretty good considering.

I was doing the 4 to 1 split so I am happy to have my pace right at 12:00.  If I can do that for the half I will be so happy.  I only have to add 5 miles to what I ran today to get to the half.  LOL  Oh yeah just 5 more miles.  hahaha  Next week is a drop week which means I drop my long run down a few miles to give my body a rest.  We will be running a 10K next weekend so my long run will only be 6 miles.  YAY  I am looking forward to the little break.

I saw one other person out there running.  I thought for a minute I really was the only crazy one who goes out running in the rain.  Thank you runner in the green sports bra – Thank you for showing me I am not truly crazy.  I also ran past a neighbor who was loading her kids in the car with an umbrella.  I waved Hi and she waved back and said “Now that’s dedication.  You go girl.  Keep it up.”  LOL  That was nice to hear especially since that was on my 6th mile and I thought I was going to die by then.  It was a nice little motivation to keep me going.  Thank you nice neighbor.  Now I am ready to go to a friend’s house and watch some football.   I am sure I will truly enjoy my wine today.  I deserved it.

Did you get a long run in this weekend?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 9, 2012 in Running

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Rainy 8 Miles

  1. KJ and the Kids

    September 10, 2012 at 9:54 am

    See and I think running in the rain would be awesome.

     
    • Two Moms

      September 10, 2012 at 11:15 pm

      Its not bad until you get the soaked shoes. LOL

       

Leave a Reply

