RSS

Awesome 9 Miles

23 Sep

Today was my long 9 mile run.  I felt great and I was off to a really good start.  I found a new loop around the house that is just under 2 miles.  This is great because I do 2 miles then run past the house and get water and fuel as needed.  My first 3.75 miles were good.  At mile 3.75 I stopped for water and took 3 sport beans.  These things are awesome.  If you havent tried them, I highly recommend them.

I was starting to feel a bit sluggish so I figured the beans would help and they totally did.  I made another loop and felt great.  I was right at 5.6 miles on my next stop.  I got more water and took 3 more beans and off I went for my next loop.  I came back around to the house at about 7.5 miles – more water and 2 more beans.  I really felt good and I was surprised that I really felt like I had so much more energy.  I don’t know why I didn’t try this sooner than now.  Yes total lightbulb moment for me.  LOL

I hit 9 miles right at 1 hour and 48 minutes.  I was hoping to keep it under 1:50 so that is good.  I made it.  My official time was 9.05 in 1:49:06.  Average pace of 12:03 – I think this is great considering I am still doing the run, walk, run intervals.  If I can keep my pace right at 12:00 for the half marathon I will be thrilled.  🙂

Today was the first time that I did a long run and I didn’t feel like I wanted to die and quit.  I actually felt like I could go another mile or so if I wanted to.  It was a great run.  I know I can do this half marathon now and I am getting excited again about it.  Next week will be a long run of 10 miles.  I am so excited to hit that 10 mile mark.

Now its time for some football watching and relaxing with the family.  Hope you all have a wonderful weekend!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 23, 2012 in Running

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Awesome 9 Miles

  1. loseitbig

    September 24, 2012 at 3:22 am

    Very nice run.

     

Leave a Reply

