RSS

Excuses Excuses

16 Oct

I know it has been a while since I posted and trust me I can come up with a million excuses as to why but I will save you the boring details.  Sometimes life just gets in the way.  So let me caught you up on what has been going on.

So three weeks ago I did my first ever 10 miler.  It totally sucked!  LOL  I was doing great until 8.5 miles and then I hit a major brick wall.  The last 1.5 miles were very hard.  If I ever were to cry while I run that would probably have been one of those runs.  It took everything I had to get those 10 miles in.  But at the end of the day it was done and I was glad for that.  10.01 miles in 2:00:09

Then the next weekend was a fall back week.  This is where I drop my long run down a few miles to give my body a little bit of a break.  So 8 miles were on the schedule.  Well Saturday night I was sicker than a dog.  Up all night sick.  I couldn’t keep anything in my body.  Oh yeah fun times!  So Sunday morning I was not getting out of bed to go run 8 miles.  In fact I didn’t get out of bed at all that day.  I was sick for 3 days.  I believe I had food poisoning.  Baby J and D were both sick on Sunday after eating what I had eaten the night before.  Thank God neither of them were as sick as I was but none of us were doing well at all.  It took me over a week before I started to feel somewhat normal.  I was able to get a short 2 mile run in last Wednesday and really wasn’t feeling it.  So Sunday I decided to give it a go for 7 miles.  I actually felt pretty good and I had a really good pace.  6.84 miles in 1:18:00  11:24 min/mile  Not bad for not running in over a week.  On the plus side to being sick for a week is that I got a little weight loss.  LOL  Not the way I planned but I will take it.

So this week I am going to get 2 short runs in and then go for another 10 miler on Sunday.  I have 4 weeks before my half marathon.  I am feeling a little under prepared for this especially since my previous 10 miler was not the best.  So its time to push out these last few weeks and get my miles up and my body ready.

So that is pretty much what you have missed.  Yes, Oh Yes  I live an exciting life.  🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 16, 2012 in Running

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

