RSS

Not What I need Right Now

21 Oct

I have been having some issues with the second to little toe on my right foot.  It hurts when I run and then the day after it feels like its broken.  I am not sure if it is a stress fracture or what but it needs to go away so I can run my half marathon.  I have also been having issues with the toe next to my big toe on my left foot.  I keep getting a blister at the tip of my toe.  I bought new shoes and that didn’t help so I know its not the shoe its just me.

So today I decided to tape the toes on my right foot to see if that helps.  I also put a band-aid over the tip of my left foot toe with a piece of tape around it so the band-aid wouldn’t fall off.  Then I set out for a 10 mile run.  I was feeling good.  The toes felt pretty good.  I was on a role and feeling good.

I was almost to 5 miles and I then felt the band-aid on my left foot starting to hurt.  Just then I felt this sharp stabbing pain and it felt like my foot was on fire.  This stopped me dead in my tracks and I dropped to the ground.  I took my shoe and sock off to see what was going on.  The tape around the band-aid rubbed a blister on my big toe and the running rubbed the blister open and completely off.  There was no skin left on my big toe.  I took the tape and band-aid off and put my shoe and sock back on.  I needed to make it home.  I started to run and the pain was horrible.  I walked and the pain was even worse.  So I continued to run as best I could.  I then sent D a text to come pick me up.  I was not going to make it home.  I continued to run as much as I could.  If it hurt to walk on it I might as well run.  D picked me up at 5.33 miles.  I went home and tried to bandage my toe up.  Two band-aids and some meds later I set back out to finish my run.
I really was not sure if I was going to make it or not but I had to try.  The run was not fun by any means but I was able to do it.  I ran another 4.7 miles.  It hurt and it wasnt pretty but I did it.

  1. 11:29
  2. 10:59
  3. 11:10
  4. 11:47
  5. 10:50
  6. 11:59
  7. 11:04
  8. 11:44
  9. 11:23
  10. 11:20

10 miles in 1:54:09  11:24 min/mile

This is what my blister looks like.

It really hurts tonight.  Wonder how long before it heals?  This is really not what I need when my half marathon is a month away.

This is my well deserved post run breakfast.


Two eggs, toast and ham.  Yummy!

Did you get a long run in this weekend?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 21, 2012 in Running

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “Not What I need Right Now

  1. thehealthyglobetrotter

    October 21, 2012 at 8:34 pm

    All I have to say is – OUCH! How can something so small always manage to hurt so much?!

     
  2. roundtoravishing

    October 22, 2012 at 7:05 am

    Ouch, that looks painful!I hope your toe issue resolves soon and your blister heal up quickly so you can get back to comfortable runs

     
  3. KJ and the Kids

    October 22, 2012 at 10:35 am

    Girl that looks terribly painful. You need those sock shoes 🙂 a little something to separate all of your little piggies.
    I hope they heal quick for you. soak em.

     
  4. Joe Ehrich

    October 22, 2012 at 4:02 pm

    That does look very painful. I hope that it doesn’t keep happening. That would stink.

     

Leave a Reply

