RSS

Last Chance Workout

15 Nov

Today was my last run before the half marathon on Sunday.  I am not sure how excited I am about it but I can tell you I am very nervous about it.  My longest run to date is 11 miles.  I was going to do a 12 mile run a few weeks back and I did horrible on it and only made it to 5 miles.  I have days were I run great and feel like I can run a full marathon and there are other days I feel like running 3 miles is going to kill me. Not sure what my problem is or if I am just slacking but whatever it is I sure as shit have good days and bad days. I am just praying that this Sunday is not one of my bad days.

Sunday I ran 8 miles and today I ran 3 miles.  These are my last two runs before I run 13.1 miles.  I feel like I could use another month or two of training but I have no time left.  Ready or not I am running a half marathon in 2 days!!  I really cant believe I am saying that.  A long hard 11 months I have put in all for this one day.  I have busted my ass and slacked off and busted my ass some more.  I have lost 17 pounds and have built up my muscles, stamina and endurance.  I have changed my life and I am very happy with the changes I have made.  WOW – 11 months.  I just cant believe I have been running for this long.  And come Sunday I will have earned this bad boy.

Yup this is mine and will be proudly displayed on the back of my car.  Oh I just cant wait.  I will officially be a runner!

I have been hearing so much about compression socks I thought I would finally give them a try.  Nothing like a week before a marathon to give them a try.  🙂

These lovely orange calf compression sleeves are suppose to help you run better and not get so tired by keeping the blood flowing.  I ran in them twice this week and I am not 100% convinced they help but hey I will give them a try.  Of course I had to get a matching orange shirt to wear in the race since I don’t want to look like rainbow bright and all – Thanks D for pointing that out to me this weekend.  LOL  Then again rainbows are pretty cool.

Me in all my glory of the sweaty mess I was today after my last chance workout.  I hope I have done enough to have a great run on Sunday.  Wish me luck!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 15, 2012 in Running

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Last Chance Workout

  1. Deb Carson

    November 16, 2012 at 4:33 am

    I’ll be rooting for you V!! You can do it!!Love you!!

     
  2. Terry

    November 16, 2012 at 2:30 pm

    Now it is time for mental preparedness!!!! Look at your entry for Oct 28 – you can do this! easily!!

    Sleep well, eat right [carbs – not calories] and quit worrying. Go Orange!!! 🙂

     
  3. kjandthekids

    November 16, 2012 at 4:07 pm

    Must be said like Arnold Schwarzenegger…..You Can Do It !
    And you totally don’t look like Rainbow bright….more like Orange Blossom from the strawberry shortcake collection 😉 just sayin.

     

Leave a Reply

