RSS

13 point freaking 1

19 Nov

We did it!!!!  We ran our first half marathon and I have to say it was AWESOME!!!   We had the best support system EVER!  A big thank you to Team W and my girl S.  You guys are amazing and I am so happy that you were here with us for our first half marathon.

The morning was so very cold and windy.  We found a corner to bunker down in before the race.

S was sure to bring the after race meds!  LOL

I have to admit that I think this is the only race I have been to that actually started on time.  I was really impressed.  Right at 7am we were off.  D and I ran together the entire race.  This is the first time we ever ran together.  D has done so well with her training that her times were so close to mine that we were able to do this.

The race was amazing.  We had good speed and kept a steady pace all the way through.  The first 8 miles seemed to fly by – well as much as they could when you are running.  🙂  The course was beautiful and the weather was nice and cool.  It was overcast and a bit chilly which made it a great day for a run.  The worse part was the wind on the open water.  There was a part of the race that ran down a long pier and it was absolutely miserable to run into the wind for that mile.  I really just wanted to die at that point and that was mile 8.  I just put my head down and powered through.

After that we were back in our stride.  Then we came to mile 11 and I hit a wall.  My calfs felt like they were going to explode.  I could feel blisters forming on my toes.  I was getting tired.  I just wanted to be done.  I didn’t say anything to D because I didn’t want to ruin her momentum.  We powered on and made it to mile 12.  I knew we only had a mile to go.  That last mile seemed to last forever.  Then I caught sight of the finish line.  I was so close.  I wanted to be done.  I wanted that finish line and we were only about a half mile away from it.  We kicked it up a notch and gave it our all.  D pulled ahead of me and I gave it all I had to keep up with her.  D crossed the finish line first and I was right behind her.

I know I gave it my all and I had nothing left to give when I crossed that finish line.  My motto for this race “Don’t look back – leave it all on the track”  If anyone has seen that movie you will know what I mean because I totally felt like racing stripes.  My legs were burning and I needed to keep going.  I repeated that motto in my head over and over throughout this race.  As you can see I look rough in my finish picture.

 

Our official race times.

D’s Times

V’s Times

As you can see – D crossed first but I was 3 seconds behind her.  So she didn’t beat me by much.  I blame it on her legs being longer than mine.  Oh I am not competitive at all – who me?  No never!!

I am so happy that I had a great friend push me to sign up for this race.  I am so glad that we had these friends and more run this race with us and I can definitely say I will never forget my first half marathon.  I am so proud of my beautiful wife for doing this with me and I am truly blessed that she has but up with all my training over the past few months and understood how much this race meant to me.  Thank you to everyone who has supported me along the way.  This race was definitely worth the long months of training.  I  am so proud of all of us for all our hard work and we all had an amazing race.  Way to go D, Team W and S.  You guys are awesome and I am so glad we all did this together.  Love you all!!!

Champaign toast at the end.  What a great day!

 
9 Comments

Posted by on November 19, 2012 in Running

 

Tags: , , ,

9 responses to “13 point freaking 1

  1. Gayby Journey

    November 19, 2012 at 10:57 pm

    Massive congrats to you both! Well done! I know that feeling of crossing the finish line after such a huge effort….the emotion mixed with adrenaline can be so overwhelming! You should be so very very proud of yourselves!! yay!!!

     
  2. loseitbig

    November 20, 2012 at 9:49 am

    Congrats. I knew you had it in you. What is next?

     
    • Two Moms

      November 22, 2012 at 8:23 am

      My next goal is to get pregnant! LOL

       
      • loseitbig

        November 27, 2012 at 12:08 pm

        Sorry…I haven’t been on in a while and I hope you don’t kill me for this follow up comment BUT….Any way I can help your next goal? I am such a helping person.

         
      • Two Moms

        December 2, 2012 at 10:04 am

        LOL Thanks but we have that covered.

         
  3. KJ and the Kids

    November 20, 2012 at 11:49 am

    That is SO awesome. You get a sticker for your car now. 13.1 🙂
    I did 3.5 and can’t imagine running 10 more miles. sheesh.
    So 26.2 is next ?

     
    • Two Moms

      November 22, 2012 at 8:24 am

      Thanks it felt bad and awesome all at once. LOL No desire to fun 26.2. Next is baby making. 🙂

       
  4. Terry

    November 20, 2012 at 1:13 pm

    Awesome! i am very proud of you both – a major accomplishment!!!

     

Leave a Reply

