RSS

Elf On A Shelf

03 Dec

I have been toying with the idea of getting The Elf on a Shelf for a while now.  I was first introduced to it by a friend of mine when  baby J was just a few months old.  I wasn’t ready for that then and I knew the baby wouldn’t understand it so I passed on it.  Last year I thought of it again but still wasn’t ready for it and had way to much going on. This year I have thought about it again and up until this week, I still wasn’t sure if baby J would completely understand it all just yet.  But hey she is finally old enough to start a really cute family tradition with and she will eventually understand it more and more.  Plus I keep seeing all the cool things you can do with the elf and it looks like so much fun.  Well we finally did it – we bought and elf!

Elf on a Shelf

We were trying to figure out how to present it to baby J without it looking like it came from us.  So while we were out and about today we decided to put it under the tree for when we came home.  Baby J fell asleep in the car and it worked out perfectly for us to stage it and place the elf in a nice place for her to find. This is how she found the book from Santa.

IMG_20121203_171113_649

We told her Santa must of brought it while we were gone today.  Then we sat and read the book.  I must say that we are guilty of naming the elf ourselves or we would have an elf named Jib Jab.  LMAO  She is obsessed with Jib Jab lately.  So anyways……….  We read the book and baby J had to go find her new elf.

This is what she found.  This is Chip.

Chip

Baby J isn’t sure exactly what to think of him just yet.  She was excited to find him and then she wasn’t so excited to see him still sitting there.  She looked at him and said “He isn’t moving”.  haha  She cracks me up. She keeps walking past him and just staring at him.  I’m not sure if she is giving him the evil eye or sizing him up but it is hilarious to watch her walk past him.

I am so excited to find a new place for him tonight.  LOL  This should be fun for the next 22 nights.  Hopefully baby J will be excited to find him in the morning.  I plan to have a little mischievous elf.  🙂

Do you have an Elf on the Shelf?

 
8 Comments

Posted by on December 3, 2012 in Elf on a Shelf

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “Elf On A Shelf

  1. NWArkansasMommaleh

    December 3, 2012 at 7:50 pm

    Our kiddo got one as a gift from my SIL last year. She was kind of afraid of it last year. This year, she was kind of scared for 5 minutes and then decided she is excited about it and runs out looking for her elf every day!

     
    • Two Moms

      December 3, 2012 at 8:04 pm

      I hope she will be excited about it as well. 🙂 Its a really cute concept.

       
  2. Frank Rotondo

    December 3, 2012 at 7:52 pm

    All my friends have one

    Sent from my iPhone

     
    • Two Moms

      December 3, 2012 at 8:05 pm

      I cant wait to come up with new places and set up for him.

       
  3. One Fit Mama

    December 3, 2012 at 10:31 pm

    I kinda sorta understand people’s obsession with this thing, but I don’t own one. The funniest and best explanation I have ever had is under this link by a lady who writes a blog called “people I want to punch in the face” http://www.peopleiwanttopunchinthethroat.com/2011/12/over-achieving-elf-on-shelf-mommies.html

     
    • Two Moms

      December 4, 2012 at 9:44 am

      LOL That is funny and there is now way in hell I would make a huge mess with the elf. One I have to clean it up and two I would have to look at it all day long because you cannot touch it until that night again. Nope that is not going to happen. 🙂 Funny post.

       
  4. kjandthekids

    December 4, 2012 at 12:00 am

    Remember. It’s elf on a shelf. Not Elf in a cereal container. Elf shaving it’s armpits. (you’ll understand when you read the attatchment above)
    I also saw this on FB today and when you mentioned your little one not really sure of it….I had to share it 🙂 Oh shit. I can’t attach it.
    DAMN !
    Well….basically it’s a picture of a kid on santa’s lap and it says, “There’s this Elf that lives on the shelf and comes alive each night. Can you get that creepy bastard out of my house ?”
    TOTALLY love that !

     
    • Two Moms

      December 4, 2012 at 9:46 am

      I was wondering how it would all play out and if she would end up with nightmares from all this but hey we are gonna screw up our kids some how, right? LOL I plan to make him do some fun stuff but I want him to do stuff that is nice and not making a mess and do things I wouldnt let her do. I cant expect her to not do something and be good because the elf is watching if the elf is doing all the bad stuff. 🙂 I think some of those moms get a bit out of hand.

       

Leave a Reply

