RSS

Released

22 Feb

Today I am officially released to resume normal activities including working out and running.  I am so excited to get back to my workouts.  PLUS I have a huge weekend planned – Gasparilla Race Weekend.  This is a crazy weekend of running.  There are 4 races in two days.  Saturday there is a 15k and 5K and then Sunday there is a half marathon and an 8K.  Most sane people will pick one of these races and run it.  Other not so sane people will run 2, 3, or all 4 of them.  And you guessed it – D and I fall in the not so sane group.  LOL

Insane

We have our friends coming to meet up with us this weekend and we couldn’t be more excited to see them again.  D and both our friends are running all 4 races!  Yes they are really crazy and the only reason I am not running all 4 is because I was pregnant at the time of registration and didn’t want to push it to far being pregnant.  Even being pregnant I signed up for 2 of the races.  I will be doing the 15K and the 8K.  Of course since I have not run in two months and I have no time to train for anything I will probably be doing a lot of walking but I don’t care I am still doing it.  D actually has hurt her leg and she will probably be walking a lot of them as well but again it doesn’t matter.  The goal is to finish – not come in first.  As long as we cross that finish line we are winners.  We get a medal for each individual race and a medal for the group of races and then finisher jackets.  Oh I can’t wait.  It will be so much fun.

Also I have started working on a new workout routine.  I want to add more weight and less long running to my routine.  I want to do weights 4 times a week and do interval running on those same 4 days and then take one day for long runs.  I have a starting point of what I am looking to do and I will probably do a small revision before I start them on Sunday.  Going to talk to my girl, C, when we get together this weekend.  She is the one who got me into all this crazy running and half marathon stuff.  J  You know I love ya girl!

So here is the basic start of what I am looking at doing.

Sunday – Working Chest, Shoulders, and Triceps with weights and then doing Short Repeats for running intervals (Fast run for 30 seconds then Jog 60 seconds – repeat 10 times)

Monday – Working Legs, Back, Biceps, and Abs with weights and then doing Quickies for running intervals (Fast run for 15 seconds then Jog 60 seconds – repeat 10 times)

Tuesday – Rest

Wednesday – Working Chest, Shoulders, and Triceps with weights and then doing Short Repeats for running intervals (Fast run for 30 seconds then Jog 60 seconds – repeat 10 times)

Thursday – Working Legs, Back, Biceps, and Abs with weights and then doing Quickies for running intervals (Fast run for 15 seconds then Jog 60 seconds – repeat 10 times)

Friday – Rest

Saturday – Long Run or Hills (alternating weeks)

I think this gives me a good starting point back. I might change up the running with elliptical or something, I am just not 100% just yet.  We will see.   I can’t wait to start.  Funny how my life and desires have changed and I WANT to go in the gym and torture myself for an hour.  LOL  LOVE IT!!

working out

 
7 Comments

Posted by on February 22, 2013 in life

 

Tags: , ,

7 responses to “Released

  1. loseitbig

    February 22, 2013 at 2:04 pm

    When you start over you really jump all in. That a girl.

     
    • Two Moms

      February 22, 2013 at 2:08 pm

      LOL no sense in doing it half ass! 😛

       
  2. Jaxcarrie

    February 22, 2013 at 2:47 pm

    Love it – go big or go home!!!!

     
    • Lindsay

      February 22, 2013 at 3:54 pm

      this completely!

       
    • Two Moms

      February 22, 2013 at 4:42 pm

      Heck yeah! hahaha

       
  3. KJ and the Kids

    February 22, 2013 at 8:33 pm

    HOLY SHIT ! Take two of these and call me on Sunday. 🙂

     
  4. Booking It with Runner Sami

    February 22, 2013 at 9:15 pm

    I’m right there with you. Once I got the all clear to workout again it helped a lot. I really like your weekly plan – I might adopt it for my routine too. 🙂 Those races sound like a lot of fun. Would love to see pics if you take any. Happy running! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

