RSS

Crazy – Crazy

28 Feb

Well we did it!  We are officially Crazy – Crazy.  I guess technically I am only half crazy but had I been healthy I would have been full on crazy just like these other 3.  Gasparilla Race Weekend – 4 races in 2 days – 15k, 5k, half marathon, 8k – Yup Crazy – Crazy.

D and our friends C and A all ran the Mich Ultra Challenge which is all 4 races – the 15k and 5K on Sunday and the half marathon and 8K on Sunday.  I ran the Bud Select 55 Challenge which is only 2 races – the 15K on Saturday and the 8K on Sunday.  It was hard.  It hurt.  It was fun.  It was worth all the bling we got! This was two days worth of running.

Medals

We also got race shirts and a finisher jacket for the Challenges.  This is what they got for running all 4 races.  Not too shabby.

Bling

I think C has officially turned us into medal whores.  It is all about the medal at the end of the race.  Don’t get me wrong it is a great feeling and great accomplishment to run these races and to physically push yourself beyond your comfort zone but the reward is that medal at the end.  That is the prize.

We all were hurting so bad after the races but we had such a great weekend and we had great friends to suffer through it with.  I never loved bio-freeze so much in my life.  With as crazy as this all sounds I can’t wait to do it again next year.

February 2013 048

I started the 15K off pretty good but it didn’t take long before my body started to rebel.  D stayed with me since she was taking it easy due to her hurt leg.  So we ran a bit and walked a lot and ran some more and walked even more.  We were having fun and we just make the best of it.  We even stopped to have a donut.

Donuts

It was great being back on the course again and awesome having my wife by my side.  Half way through the 15K I told D I would do the 5K with her after we were done with the 15K.  By the time we got to mile 9 I was hurting pretty good.  I didn’t have anything left to give in.  I was done.  I finished the race with a little run across the finish line and I hurt so bad but I finished.  It wasn’t pretty but I finished.

V 15K

I told D she was on her own for the 5K.  LOL  D did awesome and has a pretty good time.  C and A of course kicked it out like there was no tomorrow.  They are awesome.

The next morning we got up and headed to the races.  It was early and we were not looking forward to day 2 of running.  We were all tired and hurting.

tired

Like a bunch of little troupers D, C and A all got out there and ran a half marathon like it was nothing.  This was the only race that had any time limit to it since you needed to finish in 2 hours 55 minutes to get back to the starting line for the 8K right after.  They all did it and we were off for our last race.  C told us as we were waiting for the 8K to start that she took a fall in the half marathon.  Ouch not fun but she was okay and going to take it easy.  D was hurting pretty good by this point so we were taking it really easy.

February 2013 055

 

After a mile C was off and running and I stayed with D.  We walked a lot and ran and I could tell with every step that she was in a lot of pain.  Our time wasn’t pretty but we made it.  I gave a good push to the finish and it felt good.

8K run

8K C 8K D 8K

We went and had some celebratory drinks and pictures afterwards.

Post Race Group Post Race post Race 2 February 2013 057

 

Group February 2013 066 February 2013 061 February 2013 060

 

What a great weekend.  So glad we have such awesome friends that make us do all this crazy stuff.  LOL  Love you guys!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 28, 2013 in Running

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “Crazy – Crazy

  1. Jaxcarrie

    February 28, 2013 at 11:40 pm

    You guys are awesome!!! Had such a great weekend(minus the running!). Love you guys!

     
    • Two Moms

      March 1, 2013 at 7:23 am

      One of these times we will need to do the drinking weekend without running first. LOL

       
  2. loseitbig

    March 1, 2013 at 11:05 am

    That sounds like fun. Next time you should invite me…lol. I think you should drink while running kill 2 birds with one stone.

     
  3. KJ and the Kids

    March 1, 2013 at 11:22 am

    VERY impressed !
    If anything….you got bling….AND, had your pictures taken with some scottish dance girls. (?) ha ha

     
  4. Lindsay

    March 1, 2013 at 11:57 am

    Thats just amazing what you guys accomplished! I am very very impressed and in awe! Congratulations!

     
  5. Joe Ehrich

    March 4, 2013 at 3:37 pm

    Congratulations to all of you for being so crazy!!! Can’t wait to see those medals displayed!!!

     

Leave a Reply

