RSS

M*TH**F****R

04 Mar

This was pretty much my reaction when I got the call from my doctor about my lab results.  I guess with all the running and other activities we had going on this month, I kind of forgot that I was waiting on test results.  I also was really not expecting anything to come back bad.  I guess I was wrong.

So my blood work came back that I have MTHFR (Methylenetetrahydrofolate Reductase).  I have read about others who have had this but I never thought this would be something I would have to deal with.  I know this isn’t a death sentence but this really puts a huge hole in my plans for our second child.  I have now been referred to a perinatologist.  I am not sure if I feel better knowing that something is wrong and we can move forward with a plan or not.  I guess this give me an answer as to why I am having problems staying pregnant but it really doesn’t make me feel any better.  I just feel like this is a huge hurdle to overcome and I am feeling very overwhelmed by it.

I don’t understand any of this.

MTHFR

I don’t have my exact lab results so I don’t know which form of it I have.  From what I have read there are a few things I can do to try to treat this.  First off is adding some supplements to my daily vitamins and see if that helps.  I would have to add high doses of Folic Acid, B6 and B12, and then adding a baby aspirin through the first trimester.  Some ladies have said this worked and they conceived and everything was fine.  Other have added blood thinners to this and said that has worked.  Then there are other who have tried and tried and have not conceived or gotten past this.  So I guess depending on which form I have will depend on what the game plan will be.

I am waiting for a call back from my DR to confirm my appointment with the Perinatologist.  I am hoping I can get in quickly and get more answers as to what is going on and what we can do to try to fix it.  I am also very overwhelmed at the additional help problems this can cause for me now and in the future.  I think I will also follow up with a Hematologist.  I want to make sure I cover all the possibilities.  Oh I am sure this will be so much fun.

Since I have been so lucky to hit my wonderful $2500 deductible for the year, I plan to use my insurance like it is going out of style for the remaining 10 months.  OHHH yeah you gotta love insurance. *SMH*

 
8 Comments

Posted by on March 4, 2013 in TTC

 

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “M*TH**F****R

  1. roundtoravishing

    March 4, 2013 at 2:31 pm

    Good luck with everything. Wishing you the best in a hard situation.

     
  2. Brittany

    March 4, 2013 at 2:55 pm

    This is bittersweet news for you… at least you have an answer :-/. I wish you all the luck with your upcoming appointment!

    And by the way about the insurance…. my wife and I are doing the same thing. We have both reached our deductible already and now we are milking the insurance company for the rest of the year! Lol

     
    • Two Moms

      March 11, 2013 at 9:03 am

      Heck yeah – getting my moneys worth. LOL

       
  3. KJ and the Kids

    March 4, 2013 at 3:43 pm

    Way to go Dr. Nice job requesting the blood work.
    I hope that you are able to regulate it with some extra vitamins. and that you don’t have any of the other side effects from the disease.

     
  4. glamcookie

    March 4, 2013 at 4:30 pm

    Here’s hoping it’s easy to manage and that you will get some good answers.

     
  5. Lindsay

    March 5, 2013 at 2:00 pm

    I wish I knew more about this condition, can you enlighten me/us a little on what this means for you, and the potential for another child?

     
  6. Alexia

    March 13, 2013 at 7:37 pm

    I know how you feel. I also got diagnosed with MTHFR C677T last year. It was like a bunch of bricks hit me in my gut. After countless doctor appointments with VARIOUS doctors I came out with all the same asnwers….this is treatable! With a simple cocktail solution! I am on Folgard and Lovenox injections daily. Also, after finding out I had this I also found MANY women who have the same mutation. I am thinking about you 🙂

     
  7. Eric Potter MD

    December 18, 2014 at 7:09 pm

    Praying that everything goes well. Just want to say that MTHFR can be addressed. Just find a OB/Gyn who is knowledgeable about the topic. If they say it isn’t important, find a different one. As I care for patients with this genetic change and study it, I have found it’s reach to be to the far ends of our health.

    Blessings,
    Eric Potter MD
    Sanctuary Medical Care and Consulting
    Serving Northeast and Middle Tennessee with Biblically Wholistic Healthcare
    Note: none of this should be taken as medical advice, just general information on the subject.

     

Leave a Reply

