RSS

Pray For Boston

15 Apr

It is so hard for me to sit her tonight and watch the news, yet I have been glued to the TV since I turned it on at 3:30 this afternoon. I ran two races this past weekend.  I ran a 10K on Saturday and a 5K on Sunday.  Both days my wife and daughter were waiting at the finish line for me to cross.  On the 10K I grabbed a hold of my baby girl’s hand and she ran across the finish line with me.  This is a wonderful feeling of accomplishment and a great moment to share with family and friends.  I just can not imagine coming to the finish line and seeing my family hurt or God forbid dead.

This is just a horrible event and I just cant believe someone would do this.  Running is such a great release and what did a runner ever do to anyone?  They run their own race and most of the time run alone.  There is just no need for such a senseless act.

I just can not imagine what the athletes, families, medical staff, police and everyone else in Boston is going through tonight.  This should be a very memorable moment of running a marathon.  There months and months of  training for this event.  There are many dreams of crossing that finish line and receiving that medal around their neck.  This should be memories some will never forget of running their first marathon – a huge accomplishment in itself.  Now it is a unbelievable, unimaginable day that will forever be a memory for these runners in a completely different way than what it should be.  Many runners never even got to cross that finish line.   After running for 4 hours, these runners did not get to cross the finish line.  I have run for 2 1/2 hours and it is exhausting.   Running another 1 1/2 hours past that is a feet that I will never attempt.  These runners are amazing and deserve to cross that line and deserve to get a medal around their neck and deserve to celebrate a wonderful victory.  There is no need for these exhausted runners to have to go and worry about their loved ones after running for that long.

There is no reason for this kind of shit in this world.  This is just horrible and I can not believe that we are still dealing with this kind of crap on our home soil.  We need to get a hold of this and make America safe again!  This is just ridiculous!  I pray for Boston and all of these runner and all of the victims tonight.  I pray that we can catch whoever did this and bring them to justice.  I pray that we can make America safe again.  I pray my daughter has a safe world to grow up in.  Please Pray For Boston!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 15, 2013 in Running

 

One response to “Pray For Boston

  1. deb

    April 16, 2013 at 11:36 am

    It was such a tragic incident…let it be a reminder to us that we don’t know how much time we have here on earth. Make sure to let the people in your life know how much you love them. Don’t put off the things you want to do and say for another day because that day may never come.

     

Leave a Reply

