RSS

Oh Brother!

05 May

As I posted before, D and I have agreed to not have any more children.  I have no plans to ever be pregnant again.  I will never carry another child inside of me or give birth again and I am perfectly okay with that.  We made our decision and we are blessed to have the child we have.  Baby J is our perfect, precious little miracle.  We have no regrets about our decision.

only-child

Of course I wanted another child but I was fine with knowing I would never have one.  I have never had the desire to adopt.  If I can’t have my own child I don’t want another one.  I wanted to have that bond with my child in my womb and have the time to connect with it as it grew.  Now I am not saying adoption is not the solution for many families and I know many people are blessed by their adopted children.  I get that.  I understand that.  There are many children that need homes and there are many families that cannot have their own children.  I know that.  I am not saying there is anything wrong with adoption.  I just have never felt that is was right for us.

We are still recovering from our past loss and we are still coming to grips with our decisions and our future.  We had a plan and we were moving forward.  Funny how our plan doesn’t seem to be Gods plan.  Doesn’t it always happen that way! We feel like we have been thrown a curve ball!  I swear God has the best sense of humor ever!

Well long story short – Baby J is getting a brother!  I can’t go into too many details as it is all still in the works but this little guy is the newest addition to our family.  Everyone meet Little Man.

IMG_20130426_084531_657

He has been in the system for about 2 ½ years and he is related to me.  He moved in with us on Friday.  He is 10 weeks older than baby J.  Boy are we going to have our hands full.  Of course there is history and a huge back story to this that I just can’t go into right now.  Never the less, we now have two children.

Adoption was never something that we considered doing.  It was not something that we had a desire to do even when we decided that we would never HAVE another child again.  I know many people do this and it turns out just fine but it just didn’t seem like it was for us.  But for some reason this is a situation that we just couldn’t shake.  It was as if God kept pushing this on us and trying to tell us this is what we needed to do and we didn’t agree with his plan.  We didn’t feel this was right for us.  We didn’t feel this was how we would expand our family.  We were content with our plan.  But I guess that is not what we are supposed to be doing.  Seriously I feel like God just wanted to smack us in the head with a two by four.  This has been an ongoing battle for 2 years now.  Even now we are scared to death at this whole situation.  Can we do this?  Will we be able to add another child to our house that I didn’t give birth to?  Can we form that bond with him like we have with baby J?  We have so many questions.  How is this going to play out?  I have no answers other than this is what we are doing and we will just have to wing it as we go and pray God knows what he is doing!  LOL   This little guy has fallen into our laps and we are going to see what happens next.  I am sure this will be a big adjustment for all of us, especially a spoiled only child.  We will all have a huge learning curve.  Wish us luck!

 
15 Comments

Posted by on May 5, 2013 in children

 

15 responses to “Oh Brother!

  1. Dawn Pelkey

    May 5, 2013 at 8:35 pm

    With Gods help, and the help of your supportive family and friends, everything will work out. Have Faith! Love you all!!!

     
    • Two Moms

      May 6, 2013 at 12:04 pm

      Thanks. Love you too.

       
  2. gaybyjourney

    May 5, 2013 at 8:49 pm

    Oh wow! This is fantastic. I really hope it all works out. I’m sure it will and I’m sure this is meant to be for you all.

     
    • Two Moms

      May 6, 2013 at 12:05 pm

      Thank you. We are excited to see what the future holds. I am sure it is all meant to be.

       
  3. pepibebe

    May 6, 2013 at 4:26 am

    What a surprise. Good on you for taking the leap and welcoming this boy into your home. I hope it all goes really well for you all.

     
  4. loseitbig

    May 6, 2013 at 8:24 am

    Good luck and congrats. You guys will do great and you will have 2 spoiled little ones.

     
  5. KJ and the Kids

    May 6, 2013 at 10:58 am

    I didn’t hear even a little tiny bit of excitement or happiness in your post about the decision to add this child to your family ? Are you at all connected with him ?
    Love to hear the backstory.
    I’m certain that this didn’t come without forethought on your part. You’ll be a great mom to him.I hope you are able to accept and love him as your own. just free your mind and the rest will follow !! ha ha ha
    and just think. you now have twins. Welcome to the family 🙂

     
    • Two Moms

      May 6, 2013 at 11:37 am

      We are happy to have him in our family. Sorry it didn’t sound that way. I guess it still so new that I am still so nervous. I dont want to screw anything up. 🙂 Baby J is excited to have him to play with and then she has days she wants him to go home. LOL We are all getting use to it still. Once I am able I will post the back story. That will probably help understand much more of this. I just cant do that yet. But yes we are excited to add him to our family. And yes we have twins now. I might have to hit you up for some tips. 😉

       
  6. Alexia Pereira

    May 6, 2013 at 2:25 pm

    What a wonderful surprise! You two will be great moms just like you are with J! Congrats and many wishes for a beautiful, loving family. 🙂

     
    • Two Moms

      May 6, 2013 at 2:32 pm

      Thank you. We are blessed.

       
  7. The Mommaleh

    May 6, 2013 at 5:50 pm

    Isn’t that the way. You get all accepting of not being able to have another bio child, and without any effort or energy or working towards it on your part you get an adorable little man that falls in your lap just like it was meant to be because it was! Everything happens for a reason. Oh as far as the whole “sometimes she wants him to go home” I still sometimes tell my mom she needs to send my baby brother back for a refund. He’s 24. 🙂

     
  8. Sharon

    May 8, 2013 at 12:01 am

    Love, love, and more LOVE is really all he needs and you gals (and this includes baby J) will be able to give him more than he could ever ask for. You know the old saying, “Woman makes plans and God laughs!!!” That is the way life is, just go with the flow and everything will work out according to God’s plan. You are all blessed to have each other.

     

Leave a Reply

