RSS

Up Another Size – Really?

14 Jun

Sizes mean so much, especially to woman.  So it doesn’t matter what the size is – it is usually not the right size.    I have been small most of my life, and by small I mean overall size, 5’2″ petite is rough and to add any real weight to that small frame is tough.  I look like a big  Oompa Loompa – minus the orange face and green hair.

Umpa_Lumpa

Well I never really thought to much about shoe size until I started running.  I have always been a 6.5 and that was fine.  So when I started running I upped my shoe to a 7.5 after getting blisters and having my toe nails fall off.  Well now its a year and a half later and I am still getting blisters.  This happens mostly on my long runs but on my shorter runs my toes just ache.  Well once again I got blisters and my toe nails have fallen off.  Gives a whole new meaning to this:

toenailOVALredo

Wearing open toed shoes nowadays is tough without lots of nail polish.  LOL

So while we were at our last race they had shoes that were marked down to 50% off.  This caught my attention – lets face it what woman does not go to a table of shoes that are 50% off!!  Looking around and I saw they had my running shoes there.  SCORE!!!  Problem was they were in a size 8.  DAMN!  After talking to my friend she said I should try them on and that maybe another half size would help with the blisters.  I tried them on and they felt big.  I debated.  Then I looked and they had the same shoe in a size 8 narrow.  So I tried those on and they felt better.  So I bought them.

I have been running in them for a few weeks now and they feel great.  My toes feel better and I have not seen any blisters.  A long race will tell me more but for now they are working out nice.  Only problem is I am having a hard time accepting that my running shoes are a size 8!!  Holy cow really!  That is a size and a half bigger than I wear.  Crazy how sizes makes you think, even in shoes.  I do like the shoes though!  🙂

IMG_20130614_132228_536       IMG_20130614_132236_622

What do you think?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 14, 2013 in Running

 

2 responses to “Up Another Size – Really?

  1. JaxCarrie

    June 14, 2013 at 2:39 pm

    Glad they are working out for you….take em on a long run test drive though. don’t worry about size 🙂

     
  2. kjandthekids

    June 14, 2013 at 5:58 pm

    That has gotta suck with sandal season upon us. Hope the new shoes do the trick.
    My feet grew after having kids. and I shrunk. So I started out at 5’9 with a size 9 shoe and ended up 5’8 with a size 9.5 or 10. Not exactly what I’d hoped for. 🙂
    I suppose it’s that whole….motherhood grounds you…..thing. ha ha ha

     

Leave a Reply

