RSS

On the back burner

26 Jun

On my last few runs my right calf has been killing me and my knees have not been so happy either.  If you can imagine a knife being stabbed into your calf and your knees hitting bricks then that is what it feels like when I run.  Lots of run, right?  Yet I keep going.  Why?  I keep going because it allows me to eat and drink and not gain weight.  My knees are not good anyways and I know this.  I was told on my last knee surgery that I would be lucky to get 10 years out of my knees before I would need both of them replaced.  If I gain weight the added weight hurts my knees.  If I run and workout that hurts my knees too but I also feel that running and working out helps strengthens them too.  So I am either overweight and my knees hurt or I am healthy and my knees hurt.  I choose the second option.

Okay back to my calf hurting.  I couldn’t figure out what exactly was causing it.  While in Wisconsin I thought it might have to do with the hills.  It doesn’t feel like I torn anything but it just burns and hurts when I run.  It doesn’t hurt when I am walking or not working out.

While up north all I did was run, I didn’t do any insanity.  My first run back here since vacation and it was feeling better.  I am thinking that my calf problem is linked to the insanity.  There is so much jumping around in insanity that I think it is just putting too much strain on my calf and knees.  So the obvious solution is to dial it down some.  Solution – I am swapping out my insanity for my Jillian Michaels for a while.  I am hoping that if I keep moving forward with running and Jillian that I will be able to get back into insanity soon.  I don’t want to give up on it but I also don’t want to end up hurting myself either.  So I think I need to work up to it.  Insanity is officially on the back burner now.

I did Jillian Michaels Ripped in 30 today.  My calf felt much better and my knees are not screaming as much as after insanity.  I hope this is the solution I need right now.  I am also thinking I might need to go back in and have my knees checked out again.  It has been 3 years since my first knee surgery.  I am really hoping that I will get another 6-7 years out of them.

Why can’t I just be a natural born runner that is tall and lean with long legs?

Good-Running-Form

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 26, 2013 in Running

 

Leave a Reply

