RSS

Half Marathon Training

30 Jun

Half marathon training has officially begun.  I will have my monthly workouts posted if you want to follow along. Each week I will have two 3 mile runs and one long slow distance run and then I will have 3 days of circuit training.  I am really hoping this will get me back into shape and help strengthen my knees again.  I still find it amazing that you can work so hard to get to a healthy point and then in a matter of weeks lose it all and have to start from scratch again.  Just goes to show that you should just keep moving forward instead of starting over.  It’s much easier.

Since baby J has gotten bigger pushing her outside in the jogging stroller is getting more difficult.  So on Tuesdays I will be running on the treadmill.  On Thursdays I will be running outside at 6:30 pm with a local running group.  I did this for the first time this week and it was so HOT but it was good to get outside and be running with other people.  On Sundays will be my long runs before church.  Today I did not get up and out very early and it was 8 am before I made it out the door.  It was already hot and humid.  I need to make sure I am getting up earlier that this next week.  I was soakin’ wet by the time I was done.  D was yesterday on her run too.

IMG_20130630_085327_330   IMG_20130629_101256_836

Today I ran 3.5 miles.  I will increase my long run every week with a fall back run for recovery once a month. Nothing like training in the middle of summer but at least I am getting two runs a week outside.  I am thrilled with that.  My next half marathon will be in November.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 30, 2013 in Running

 

One response to “Half Marathon Training

  1. LoseItBig

    June 30, 2013 at 4:22 pm

    Good luck. I am with you it seems like getting “fit” takes for ever and only a day or three for it to undo. I think its all in our head. The time off is for our body to heal…at least that is what I tell my head to think.

     

Leave a Reply

