RSS

Deck of Cards Workout

13 Jul

A deck of card is not usually what you would think of when you think of working out but I have to tell you that it caught my attention and I thought I would check it out.

The basic concept is easy.  You have a deck of cards which is 4 suits and 2 Jokers.  Take each suit and assign it a body part for the workout.

Clubs= Arms

Spades=Legs

Hearts=Cardio

Diamonds=Abs

 

Then for each body part add 1-2 exercises.

 

Arms = Tricep Dips and Push Ups

Legs = Squats and Lunges

Cardio = Jumping Jacks and Burpees

Diamonds = Crunches and Reverse Crunches

 

All the Aces = 1 minute plank and the 2 Jokers = ½ mile run.

Shuffle the cards – Yes the entire deck!  Place them in a pile face down.  Draw the first card.

10 of spades

So its spades so you do legs.  Start with squats.  Since it is a 10 of spades you do 10 squats.  Next time you get a spade you do lunges.  The reps you do is whatever the card number is.

Face cards = 15 reps

After your done with that card you draw the next.

queen of hearts

This means 15 Jumping Jacks.

This was actually quite fun since you have no idea what the next card will be.  I kept a pen and paper next to my cards to keep track of how many moves I did with each card.  I also wore my HRM to see how many calories this burned.

This entire workout (all 52 cards) including the two jokers (1 mile run) took me 45 minutes and I burned 465 calories.  Not bad and it went by pretty quick.

Here is the page I put together to keep track of what I needed to do.

Deck of Cards Workout

Have you ever done a deck of cards workout?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 13, 2013 in workout

 

3 responses to “Deck of Cards Workout

  1. Lindsay Hollett

    July 15, 2013 at 12:21 pm

    I have done a deck of cards workout – only it was a little bit different. My trainer picked four exercises each targeting a different area of my body, then she would deal out the cards in suits to see how many reps of each I had to do – dealing until at least one of each suit was up. Then we would add the cards together and times by 10 – that was the amount of reps. It was hard ass work!

     
  2. Brittany

    July 21, 2013 at 7:56 pm

    Hey! I nominated you for a Leibster Award because I love your blog and others should too!

     
    • Two Moms

      July 22, 2013 at 10:47 am

      Thank you. I’m glad you like it.

       

Leave a Reply

