RSS

Wedding dress sizes

25 Jul

It’s been a while since I did a weigh in.  After the D&C and the stress and lack of exercise, I gained some weight back.  It seemed like it took forever to get back on track and to get that scale moving again.  I was not eating as well as I should be and I was definitely not working out the way I should be.  Now I am back on track and I am once again training for a half marathon.  This helps keep me on track since I know I will be running 13.1 miles in just a few months.  If I am not up to par then it will be much harder to run than it should be.

So let’s get back on track.  Here is my weigh in and measurements as of today.

IMG_20130725_090354_396

Waist (at bend) = 30”  Waist (at belly button) = 35”  Hips = 36”  Thighs = 22.5”  Arms = 13”

My goal weight is 120 pounds.  This puts me at the half way mark.  I am down 15 pounds and I have 15 pounds to go.  Considering I was down to 127 before getting pregnant, I am not thrilled with this number but I am more determined now to get to my goal weight.

My added determination also comes from the fact that I will be wearing a wedding dress in a mere 9 months.  I have started looking around but refuse to buy anything until I am closer to my goal weight.  Like any other bride I want to look my best on that day.  My frustration is with the fact that I don’t think wedding dresses are made for woman that are short.  My awesome 5’2” compactness does not match any of the measurements for wedding dresses.  I mean seriously where do I fit into these measurements?

Dress Sizes

I wear a size 8 in jeans and I fit in between a 10 and 12 for a wedding dress?  Wouldn’t you think wedding dresses would be smaller in sizes since this is the day woman want to look their best and feel the skinniest?  Who came up with wedding dressing being smaller than regular clothes?  That is just crazy.  Talk about making woman just feel fat and huge in a dress that is 2 sizes bigger than they normally wear.  If they want to make woman feel great on their wedding day they should have negative numbers.  LOL  “My wedding dress size is a -2”.  LMAO  Now that would be awesome.

Okay so back to reality.  I need to get closer to my goal weight and more toned before ordering one of these bad boys.  Then I will have to take 6 inches off the bottom of it to fit my long legs.  LOL

 
9 Comments

Posted by on July 25, 2013 in Wedding

 

Tags: ,

9 responses to “Wedding dress sizes

  1. Kerry

    July 25, 2013 at 11:15 am

    Unfortunately, wedding dresses and bridesmaids dresses are normally a size or 2 higher! My wife and I had the same issue. We decided that it must be a man who came up with it, haha! Good Luck!

     
  2. Carley

    July 25, 2013 at 12:12 pm

    Hey… I’ve been a reader for a while but this is my first comment!

    I’m based in the UK and it is slightly different here, but generally wedding dress sizes are smaller than regular sizes because a lot of them have corset-type lace up backs. In order to have the nice crisscross lacing, the body itself needs to be larger. (My mum’s the manageress in a bridal store, so I know a scary amount about wedding dresses, seeing as I’m not engaged!)

    I understand what you mean about ‘short’ wedding dresses, too! I’m 5’3″ and used to think I’d be swamped in ‘normal’ wedding dress, but I’ve seen pretty much every style of dress shortened for a petite bride. A decent bridal store should be able to tailor any dress to your size for you, but if you’re really worried look at a line dresses or anything which falls from below the bust – that’s what my mum told me, anyway!

    Sure you’ll find something perfect for you, regardless. Cx

     
    • Two Moms

      July 25, 2013 at 3:08 pm

      Thank you for reading. 🙂 Also for the information on the dress. It is just so overwhelming right now. LOL I was also told they have some petite dresses. Not sure if that will help or not but we will see. hahaha

       
  3. KJ and the Kids

    July 25, 2013 at 12:26 pm

    I don’t want to buy a wedding dress. That would just make me feel even WORSE about myself.
    I will say that your weight and measurements look perfect. Nice job.

     
  4. Meredith

    July 25, 2013 at 3:16 pm

    They probably could have made a dress for a small child with all the material they took off the bottom of my dress…love being short…lol

     
    • Two Moms

      July 27, 2013 at 4:54 pm

      LOL I am sure mine will be the same. 🙂

       
  5. Alexia

    July 26, 2013 at 1:52 am

    Nominated your blog for a Liebster award!

     
  6. Lindsay

    July 27, 2013 at 3:26 pm

    Ive also nominated you for a liebster award for small bloggers. Check out my blog for the questions I gave you and how to participate;

    http://makingseven.blogspot.ca/2013/07/this-is-crazy.html

     

Leave a Reply

