RSS

Sticker Shock

08 Aug

Wedding planning is in full force.  I was thinking we had plenty of time to plan a wedding.  Our date is 9 months away.  Boy, I couldn’t have been more wrong!  We agreed on our date, April 27th, and our reception date, May 3rd.  Started calling around to get prices and see what we needed to do to book places and what not.  Come to find out that some placed didn’t have that date available.  It’s 9 months away!  Wow – Okay we need to get planning.

Started REALLY getting into this planning and am in sticker shock.  Maybe I am just cheap but WOW!  I cant believe what some things cost.  Some places want $2,000 just to rent the space – no food or drink or anything!  You have got to be out of your mind.  There is no way I am paying that.

So after calling around we finally found a place that is reasonable and will be perfect for us.  Call to book it and May 3rd is taken.  So we are now having our reception May 10th.  Okay fine no big deal.  Well yesterday I realize that May 11th is mother’s day.  Go figure.  I obviously was not looking at the calendar when I booked it.  LOL  Oh well party with us on Saturday and have brunch with mom hungover on Sunday.  🙂

I quickly realized that I need to get my big items lined up now – reception place, DJ, cake, photographer, decorator, flowers and then there is the Reverend in NY and our ceremony place and all that up there.   Again maybe I am cheap but shocked at the price of some of this.  Who spends $2500 on a photographer.  That is insane.  My budget does not allow for that.

Okay time to get creative.  Our trip to NY to get married is gonna cost us a bit with the flights and stuff.  I need to buckle down on the budget for the reception.  So there will be a lot of DIY stuff going on.  We are looking to be simple but elegant.  So far I think our ideas are coming together and working.  D and I work great together and have similar taste so nothing has been a battle, yet.  LOL   Hopefully it stays that way.

I think we are close to getting all the major stuff set up with contracts now.  This will give us time to work on the little details.    We do have our wedding colors picked out.

Picture1

Navy and White with orange accents. Our orange ranges between a red orange to a burnt orange to a yellow orange. Depending on where we are using it.  I think it will look awesome.

We have started picking out wedding dresses as well and it’s all starting to sink in.  This is really happening.  YAY!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 8, 2013 in Wedding

 

4 responses to “Sticker Shock

  1. Rick Shuster

    August 8, 2013 at 1:08 pm

    Let me know when you nail down dates, times, locations, etc. and I can get to work on invitations – even if you do them online or whatnot. 😀

     
  2. kjandthekids

    August 8, 2013 at 4:05 pm

    My friends just spent $35,000.00 on wedding rings for each other. WEDDING RINGS FOR FUCK SAKES !
    (sigh)
    DIY is a pretty good way to go, I say. Good luck and can’t wait to see the progress as you go.

     
  3. Kerry

    August 13, 2013 at 9:13 am

    My wife and I just had out wedding in Key West in June and omg it is definitely expensive. I must say that we were willing to spend on the photography because it is soooo worth it. Everything else, we did DIY. I made 100 boarding pass invitations for $60. I made menus and program fans for about $20. Koozies were a great favor that our guests still use and love them. Our table names were different cities that are important to us and we designed those and printed them on card stock. Our center pieces were vases from ikea for $4.99 each filled with expanding water pearls and an LED light. The best idea of all is to get real touch flowers. We had 10 bouquets of calla lillies (which also served as center pieces after the ceremony) and they were about $160 and now we still have them and are able to use them or sell them. My friend spent $2,000 on her flowers and I think that is just crazy!! There is definitely a lot of DIY stuff you can do that will save you a ton of money! Good luck and let me know if you girls need help!

     
    • Two Moms

      August 13, 2013 at 12:04 pm

      Thanks so much for the info. I will be looking into real touch flowers. I have a list of DIY already. Our trip to NY is going to cost us so we are making the pennies count. 🙂

      Congrats on your wedding!

       

Leave a Reply

