RSS

Lesbian Repair Center

31 Aug

Last night we were getting ready for bed and heard this weird sound.  D said she just started the dryer so I thought the baskets fell off the top.  I got up to look and there were no baskets in there and the dryer was not running.  I tried to turn it back on and it would turn on but the drum did not turn.  The dryer acted like it wanted to go but didn’t.  You could hear the motor turn on and hum but not turn the drum.  I told D that the belt must have broken and that was the noise we heard.  We went to bed and said we would deal with it today.

My job today was to fix the dryer.  I pulled out the dryer, disconnected the vent and unplugged it.  I looked inside the dryer through the vent hole and could see that the belt was not broken.

   IMG_20130831_124814_047

I put my hand in there and moved stuff around and tried to see if I can could find out why it wasn’t working.  I could not figure it out.  Everything looked fine.

IMG_20130831_124809_280

So I went online and tried to find an answer.  All I could find was that it was probably a bad motor.  The soonest I could get a new motor would be Tuesday.

So I called my brother-in-law and asked him if he thought I should just hire someone to do it or if I should get the motor and do it myself.  He asked if I knew for sure if it was the motor.  I said “no but the belt is not broken so what else could it be?”.  He said it could be the pulley assembly.  He told me to take it apart and disconnect the belt and see if the motor runs without the belt.  If it does then it is not a bad motor is the pulley.

So I proceeded to take apart the dryer to get to the motor.  This really is a pain in the butt.  You need to take apart the entire dryer to get to the motor.  Ugg.  So I asked D to come help me out.   I found a diagram online that helped me take it apart properly.

As we were taking it apart we noticed it smelt really bad.  D had her head all up in the dryer and stuff and said “Man that motor must have burnt up.  But it doesn’t smell burn.  That really stinks.”

While her head was in the dryer she noticed a credit card down in the bottom of the dryer vent.  I tried to get it out and took more of the dryer apart.  After cleaning out the lint I found another credit card.

Picture1

These are the two cards my wife has been missing for quite some time.  Guess we solved that mystery.

We continued to take the dryer apart.

IMG_20130831_143039_029

We removed the front panel that held the drum in place.  As I pulled the panel off I saw something sticking out from the fan.  I looked again and screamed and went running.  D looked, screamed and went running as well.  This is what we saw and it freaked the shit out of us!

IMG_20130831_144931_354

No way in my wildest dreams would I have thought that there would be a snake in our dryer!!!  Neither one of us would go near it.  We have the dryer half taken apart in the middle of the kitchen and a big black snake hanging out of it.  Thank GOD it was dead!!

IMG_20130831_144356_504 IMG_20130831_144400_279 IMG_20130831_144614_034

I think I would have died if it was alive.  Baby J starts freaking out and wanting to know what is going on.  We tell her and she starts screaming.  LMAO   Finally we all get calmed down and we come to the conclusion that we HAVE to get it out.  Well I am NOT doing it!  D was not a fan of it either but no way was I doing it.

D finally decided if she has a garbage bag, her leather work gloves, and tongs that she could do it.  Fine by me – go for it babe!  I had to record it because by this time it was just to freakin’ hilarious.  So here is my very brave wife trying to get the snake out.  ****WARNING****  You might pee your pants from laughing so hard.  Please go pee before you watch this video.  🙂

You can hear baby J in the background asking if we got it out yet and D yelling No.  LOL  She couldn’t get it out so I had to stop taping and help.  We were trying to get it out without ripping it to pieces.  Finally we got it out.  Look how big it was!  I believe it is – or should I say was – a black racer but I really dont know and nor do I want to dissect it to find out.  the head was pretty much all chewed up.  

IMG_20130831_145825_054

I completely washed down and bleached the fan and dryer parts.  We assumed this was the reason the dryer was not working and why it smelt so bad.  We put it back together and turned it on and it worked.  Hopefully there is no damage done to the motor from all of this.

This is the kind of repair work and snake removal you get in a lesbian house hold.  LMAO  I am so glad we did not wait until Tuesday to do this.  Can you imagine what the smell would have been like then?  Gross.

We have not been able to stop talking about it all night!

Never-a-dull-moment

 
13 Comments

Posted by on August 31, 2013 in life

 

Tags:

13 responses to “Lesbian Repair Center

  1. deb carson

    September 1, 2013 at 12:47 am

    OMG!!! My stomach hurts from laughing so much!! D is so optimistic – always has the trash bag at the ready! How did the snake get in there? Can you snake-proof the dryer? Although a sequel video would be hysterical!!

     
  2. Meredith

    September 1, 2013 at 12:54 am

    OMG you guys are hysterical!!!

     
  3. KJ and the Kids

    September 1, 2013 at 1:10 am

    Oh my god thank you. Thank you for posting that video. If you knew how great you just made me feel….it made all of the grunting and gagging worth it. :). Hahaha. I just want to know if she finally just used her gloves and did she throw up ? How in the hell did he get in there? Gracious ! I suppose if you’ve got them in your dryer….don’t discount the toilet. I’ve heard of lots of people with snakes in there toilets. Sleep tight.
    Thank you again handy Mandy !

     
  4. Solo Mum

    September 1, 2013 at 4:02 am

    I actually scremed watching that video! Omg I couldn’t have done it! How he hell did the snake even get into the dryer?!

     
  5. Matt Ehrich

    September 1, 2013 at 6:38 am

    What kind of snake was it? Best story ever. You almost had to call animal control to fix your dryer. LMFAO

     
  6. Two Moms

    September 1, 2013 at 7:07 am

    I think it was a black racer and I am assuming it got up into the dryer from the outside vent. It was actually in the fan part which is connected to the vent. I have no other explanation of it and YES the outside dryer vent is now snake proof!
    K when I got up to pee this morning I looked in the toilet first!! So freaked out there will be another. LOL

     
  7. Kerry

    September 1, 2013 at 8:23 am

    O.M.G. I did NOT see this coming when I started reading it. I was reading and then said omg out loud and my wife was like, “what?”. I showed her the picture of the snake and she was immediately grossed out and said she is never taking our dryer apart if this happens to us. Haha! Good job ladies!

     
  8. Frank Rotondo

    September 1, 2013 at 9:09 am

    Too funny

    Sent from my iPhone

     
  9. Mel

    September 1, 2013 at 9:27 am

    OMG! this is a hilarious video! D, you and the kitchen tongs? Count how many times you walked back & forth and around the dryer trying to pull that thing out! I laughed so hard. Thanks for sharing this.

     
  10. Janet Pelkey

    September 1, 2013 at 9:59 pm

    Michigan Grandma. Glad I left Florida! So good you are handy at fixing things. I need you here to help with my grill. I bought one like yours. It wouldn’t light at first, I read the trouble shooting section of the instructions. It said the igniter should click. Mine didn’t . I replaced the battery and it worked fine three times, Tonight I tried to light it and the burner knobs wouldn’t turn completely to the flame picture so I got as close as I could and hit ignite button. It went
    BOOM. There was flame at the connector. I got the gas turned off with pliers. Tomorrow I will check the connector.

     
  11. Amy

    September 3, 2013 at 9:52 am

    Found your blog through KJ and this is the best post EVER! Love the video. Glad you two were able to get it out and have now snake proofed the dryer vent. The gagging at the end was the best.

     
    • Two Moms

      September 3, 2013 at 2:56 pm

      Welcome! 🙂

       
      • "G"

        September 4, 2013 at 8:35 pm

        V could have an appliance repair business. But neither of you should think about landscaping. What a hoot the video was!.

         

Leave a Reply

