RSS

Serious Fast Food Issues

09 Sep

Baby J goes to school at 9 am.  I don’t get her up until 8 and she has a cup of juice.  Then I get her dressed, brush her teeth, and then try to get some food in her before we are out the door at 8:35.  Well she is not much of a morning eater (much  like her mommy) so she doesn’t normally eat before school.  She has a snack at school at 10 and I pick her up at 12 so I don’t worry to much about her not eating in the morning.  But by 12 she is hungry and ready to eat.

The other day I went for a run and then headed home to shower then went to get her from school. After that we were going to a local indoor play gym with the moms group.  I needed to feed my kid before we went there.  I also really needed to go grocery shopping and didn’t have much in the house to grab and take with me.  So while driving I was trying to figure out what to feed her.

I have seriously been having major issues with fast food lately.  It just drives me nuts that it has so many calories in it and it is just so unhealthy all around.  The more I learn about what is in fast foods and how it is made just really makes me sick to think what I am feeding my kid or myself for that matter.  I drove past McDonald’s and just cannot bring myself to ever buy her another happy meal.  The fact that their food isn’t even considered safe for human consumption until they wash it in a chemical bath just completely grosses me out.  I don’t care how good it tastes I cannot eat it again.

I always drive past Chick-fil-a.  That is a place we have not been to in a long time.  I refuse to support anything that is outwardly against my family and I don’t care if they are individually owned or not I will never eat there again.  The owner gets a percentage of each and every location.

Burger King just didn’t seem as appealing with what I read about with McDonald’s and I just didn’t want to feed her a burger.  Wendy’s ranked right up there as well.

There is a Fresh Healthy Cafe at the mall that I could get a panini at and I love this place but baby J is not a fan of that place so that is pointless when it comes to feeding her.

So what are your options?  There really is no good/healthy fast food places.  Why cant there be a half way decent place to grab something on the run.  It really was amazing to me that I was having such a problem trying to feed my kid.  Obviously I have changed my views on what is acceptable food for her and I think that is great but it really does make it harder to just run out and grab lunch on the go.

When it was all said and done I ended up going to Subway and getting a ham sub.  I know this is not perfect but the option seemed much healthier than the others.  I am not trying to go all organic on you all and I am not trying to tell you not to eat ANY fast foods.  This is all your own personal decision.  I am just saying that I am having issues with fast foods lately.

download

I would love to have a nice place that made some grilled chicken and veggies on the go.  No high calorie sauces and loaded with sodium.  Just plain old chicken and veggies.   LOL  Is that to much to ask for?

 
7 Comments

Posted by on September 9, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

7 responses to “Serious Fast Food Issues

  1. adventuresofhomelife

    September 9, 2013 at 7:58 am

    Do you have a PDQ near you? I hear they’re pretty healthy.

     
    • Two Moms

      September 10, 2013 at 12:02 am

      I tried them once and didnt think it was very good. Maybe I should try again.

       
  2. KJ and the Kids

    September 9, 2013 at 10:52 am

    Subway or another sub place is always a good go to for us. I know the meat is processed but I don’t feel so bad getting a sandwich.
    Why don’t you prepare something the night before…..like making a cold lunch. Bento is a great way to get some variety.
    Fast food is the devil. 🙂

     
    • Two Moms

      September 10, 2013 at 12:03 am

      Preparing the night before would actually mean I have to plan it out. LOL I heard of Bento before. Hmm thats an idea. 🙂

       
  3. Kim

    September 9, 2013 at 1:28 pm

    We end up a Panera more often than not because there are simply no other options. I wish there was an Evos in WC! I’m right there with you – it’s so tough!!

     
    • Two Moms

      September 10, 2013 at 12:04 am

      Oh I would be happy if we had an Evos here.

       
  4. stacey

    December 9, 2013 at 1:37 pm

    Do you have a burrito place? They have some here that are fast but no drive-thru. They have beans, meat, etc. so it’s much better. I love places like Mucho Burrito.

    We have Tim Hortons here and they serve sandwiches, bagels and soup. I like them for on-the-go.

     

Leave a Reply

