RSS

Busy, Busy – Bento Box

25 Oct

We are still alive and kicking.  Adjusting to a school schedule has been challenging to say the least and she only goes 2 days a week.  What am I going to do when she goes all week?

Baby J has to be to school by 9am which stinks considering she sleeps until 8 or 9.  So I am waking her up at 8am.  We have about 10-15 minutes of coffee/juice, cartoon, and cuddle time before we really get moving.  I need to be out the door by 8:40ish to get her to school on time.  Talk about cutting our time close.  I am so very grateful she is pretty easy going.  Starting at 8:15 I throw on some running clothes, get baby J dressed, do her hair, brush her teeth, get shoes on, and try to get her to eat something for breakfast before we get into the car and on the road by 8:40.  Hey not bad right?  She hasn’t been late once so I must be doing alright.

On Tuesday’s baby J stays at school and has lunch and then does a extra program called Polo Club.  It is a polar bear named Polo and he helps the kids read and learn.  She loves this program.  Packing her a lunch is a whole new issue.  My kid just doesn’t eat anything on a regular basis let alone eat much at all.  What do you pack her for lunch?  I was stumped.  So I figured the best way to do it was to make a bento box type lunch.  This would give her options to eat what she wanted and give her variety since she is so hit or miss on what she eats.

I found this bento box lunch set and loved it.

1

The bottom tray is an ice pack and all of the compartments snap into it so they don’t move around.

IMG_20130925_052856_322  IMG_20130925_052907_664

Then I found this lunch box that the tray fits perfectly in.  It’s like they were meant to be together.

IMG_20130925_052919_469

So her first lunch consisted of diced ham pieces, cantaloupe, baby bel cheese, banana chips, monster trail mix, and a drinkable yogurt.

IMG_20130925_052820_895

I put a fork and spoon on top.

IMG_20130925_052804_037

Then I shoved a Capri sun on top of that and zipped it up.  Perfect!

IMG_20130925_052927_191

Baby J was so excited to bring her lunch to school.  I think I was still in shock that I am now backing a school lunch.  Overall it was a hit and she ate about half of this.  Not bad if you ask me.  Now to keep it creative so she continues to eat lunch at school.

Have you ever tried backing a bento box lunch?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 25, 2013 in life

 

3 responses to “Busy, Busy – Bento Box

  1. Brian

    October 25, 2013 at 11:11 am

    Sounds and looks great to me.
    Can you pack me one for the office…..lol

     
  2. kjandthekids

    October 25, 2013 at 11:34 am

    I know. I love those things !

     
  3. The Mommaleh

    October 26, 2013 at 10:18 am

    I pretty much do the same thing for my kiddo when it is packed lunch day at her school. I never know what (if anything!) she’ll eat so she gets a variety of stuff in the hopes that she eats some of it! I couldn’t imagine doing it any other way for her. I think it is the best way to try to get kids to eat a variety of food!

     

Leave a Reply

