RSS

Chirp. Chirp.

14 Jan

Who doesn’t love being woken up in the middle of the night to a beeping smoke detector?  Oh, come on,  I know you are so excited when you hear it go off at 2am!  Last night was oh so much fun for us.  I started hearing it chirp and thought “NO! Okay give it a minute it will stop.”  After a minute it stopped but then about 10 minutes later it started again and 10 minutes after that and 10 minutes after that.  UGGG  Fine I will get my butt out of bed and check on it.  Come to find out it was the smoke detector in baby J’s room.  How annoying and a MUST change so it doesn’t wake her up.   It is midnight!

I get up, turn off the house alarm, go out to the garage to get the ladder, and grab a new battery.  Then sneak into her room in the dark and set up the ladder all while this stupid thing is beeping in my ear that is now 2 inches from it.  I fumble enough to finally get it open and the battery pretty much falls out on me.  So I try to put the new battery in and can’t seem to get it in there right.  STILL BEEPING!  I go to find a flash light and need to wake D up to help hold the light while I change the battery.  Now in my defense, this is our new house and the first time I have dealt with these smoke detectors which of course are not the same as the ones in our old house and at midnight I wasn’t too happy with trying to figure it all out.

So now D is up and the dog is up and I am up and the smoke detector is still chirping away.  I get the new battery in and it is still beeping.  D asks “Are you sure it is a good battery?”  to which I reply ever so nicely “Yes! I just opened the damn package!”  I moved the ladder to the hallway and open a different smoke detector to make sure I have the battery in correctly.  I did.  Move back into baby J’s room and open it up again and take the battery out.  By now the dog has woken up baby J!  Great the whole family is up at midnight.  YAY!

Finally I go a and get a different battery.  The first battery I grabbed was a brand new generic 9V battery.  The second one I grabbed was a brand new Duracell 9V battery.  I put that battery in and viola!  It finally shut up.  So obviously we have battery snob smoke detectors.

smoke detectors

Hope everyone else had a good nights sleep!  Chirp. Chirp.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on January 14, 2015 in life

 

8 responses to “Chirp. Chirp.

  1. brian

    January 14, 2015 at 8:02 am

    Sounds like an episode for a tv show…oh wait it was sort of (friends).
    I have to confess I have that problem as far as my smoke alarm when I cook(perhaps that’s a reflection on my cooking..lol).

     
  2. B

    January 14, 2015 at 9:23 am

    Stupid smoke alarms! This always happens to us at weird hours of the morning!

     
  3. Tanika Jefferson

    January 14, 2015 at 11:11 am

    Lol oh wow what an epic moment…I just love it!

     
  4. dawn

    January 14, 2015 at 2:07 pm

    LMAO!

     
  5. kjandthekids

    January 14, 2015 at 7:17 pm

    You didn’t stick your tongue to it to see if it was good or not ? 🙂 You could have asked D to when she asked you if the battery was good.
    I hope everyone was able to get right back to sleep.

     
    • Two Moms

      January 14, 2015 at 9:09 pm

      LOL I should have made D do it!

       
  6. Lemon Drop

    January 16, 2015 at 11:10 pm

    I’ve had trouble with birds chirping too early in the morning, but this is way worse. It’s entirely possible that my wife attacked ours with a broom. I mean, um, I don’t know anything about the wires dangling from our ceiling, why do you ask?

     
    • Two Moms

      January 21, 2015 at 7:53 am

      LOL I was seriously contemplating tearing this one out of the ceiling just to get it to shut up.

       

Leave a Reply

